Miki's Masters

This guide serves as a portal for electronic resources relating to the Slavic, Eastern and Central European Studies. Intended as a "one-stop gateway," this guide contains links to various scholarly e-resources, including reference sources like online dictionaries, encyclopedias, and bibliographies; databases and indexes; e-book and journal collections; and online archives, image repositories, and maps. Please note that while some resources are freely available, others are subscription services provided by the UCLA Library, so remote access may be necessary when accessing from off-campus.

This guide serves as a starting point for researchers and students interested in Slavic and Eastern European Studies. It contains information on selected resources from the UCLA collections, as well as provides links to materials that are freely accessible elsewhere. This guide provides information on both print and electronic resources, as well as materials in other formats (e.g., microforms, films, images, etc.). (Please note that off-campus access to licensed resources requires user authentication through the proxy server.)

Note: I am still building this guide, so there are sure to be changes and updates. If you have any suggestions or recommendations, please feel free to email me or leave a comment on any of the boxes in this guide.

This research guide will point you toward online research resources and strategies available to you as scholars doing Shakespeare research at UCLA. You will also find help locating performance recordings in our library catalogs.

Visit this guide regularly to check for upcoming library workshops and events, as well as newly acquired resources to help you in your research process.

If your area of research is comparative, consider also contacting the appropriate area studies guide or subject specialist.

Westall, Richard. William Shakespeare between Tragedy and Comedy. 1825. CC-BY-NC-ND Image Courtesy of the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust.

The UCLA Library subscribes to the following news databases. If you have not already done so, you will need to configure your computer if you are connecting from off-campus.

  is your link to full-text! Note that some sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text. Use the button to find the full text or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.

You can try these subject headings:

This is an example. The new ucla catalog