To Google or not to Google?
The Internet has brought a vast array of information to your desktop. The challenge for students is to identify the relevant sources, get to them easily, and critically evaluate their content. Some of the following websites are licensed for UC users only, others are open to all. Those that are licensed will not turn up in a Google search.
This guide will lead you to resources that can help you find material for your assignments. Remember that you can always ask a reference librarian for help.
Librarian
Quick Links
- Library HoursUCLA Library hours may change so be sure to check the website. The Page and Pick Up Service is now offered for regular circulating books only in the Arts Library that are stored in YRL.
- Research HelpSee various links to people and resources you can go to for help with your research.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- SRLF (Southern Regional Library Facility)Many library materials, archives, and manuscript collections are housed in the SRLF, a climate-controlled environment designed to preserve them. Materials can be retrieved for use in campus libraries or to be checked out.
- UCLA Schedule of ClassesUCLA Schedule of Classes is archived online from 1997.
- CLICC (Campus Library Instructional Computing Commons)CLICC offers technology and support for UCLA students, faculty, and staff--such as laptop/iPad lending, study room and library classroom reservations, computer stations, and a wide variety of instructional software through the CLICC Virtual Desktop.
Los Angeles Public Library
Not all articles are available in databases that UCLA subscribes to. The Los Angeles Public Library (LAPL) has over 250 databases available to anyone with an LAPL library card. You can get an ECARD online-no need to go to a library.
The most useful database to try searching is Research Library (ProQuest), which UCLA does not subscribe to. It has some online journals not at UCLA.
Connect from Off-Campus
UCLA students, faculty, and staff can access these sites from off-campus using either the UCLA VPN Client or Bruin Online Proxy Server. If you need help setting up your computer, contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu . They answer the phone 24/7 and are very helpful.
NOTE: All campus wireless networks (eduroam, UCLA_WIFI or UCLA_WEB) provide access to online subscription content. If you are using a Mac, you may need to use Chrome or Firefox, not Safari, to read some of the pdf material.
Citation Management Tools
Citation or bibliographic management programs help you organize your references and create bibliographies in 100s of citation styles (e.g., APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, etc.)
An EndNote license can be purchased at the UCLA Store for downloading onto your own computer or you can use the web-based EndNote Basic at no cost. The EndNote and EndNote Basic or Zotero research guides have much more information about using these tools.
-
MendeleyA free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. Used mostly in the sciences.
Need Help with Your Paper?
Need help finding sources for your paper? Not sure you're expressing yourself clearly? Want some guidance on college writing?
If you need help doing research, the Library offers ONLINE RESEARCH CONSULTATIONS. Book your appointment with a Library Student Research Assistant or make an appointment with a reference librarian.
If you need help with writing, schedule an appointment with a peer learning facilitator at the Undergraduate Writing Center (UWC).
Library Prize for Undergraduate Research
The Library Prize for Undergraduate Research recognizes and honors excellence in undergraduate research at UCLA. Cash prizes will be awarded for the best projects (group or individual) supported by UCLA Library resources.
Prize categories include the Arts, Humanities, & Social Sciences, Sciences, as well as projects that incorporate resources from the UCLA Library Special Collections, the Music Library's contemporary music collections, Best Research Project completed in a Cluster class, Best project using resources from the Film & Television Archive Research and Study Center, and the William Andrews Clark Memorial Library. Deadline for submissions is March 26, 2025.