Scholarly v. Popular
- Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleInteractive display of the key elements of a scholarly journal article.
- Here is a short video explaining PEER REVIEW.
Searching for Articles in Journals
There are several ways to search for journal articles. You can start with UC Library Search, using the Articles, Books and more option, which searches all the databases the UCLA Library subscribes to. Or you can go to a specific database, such as APA PsycINFO, Academic Search Complete, PubMed, etc.
In either case, start with a keyword search using words relevant to your topic. When you see some articles that look interesting, click on the title to see the complete citation. If there are subject terms or descriptors, click on those that seem related to your topic to get other articles on the subject.
Finding Full Text
is your link to full-text! Note that some sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text. Use the button to find the full text or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
Box within a box code
Note that many of these sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text.
To access full text:
- Use the button to do an automated search to find the full text
- Search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog, or
- Request the article through interlibrary loan if UCLA does not own the full text
For more tips, see our guide on database searching.
test
Note that many of these sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text.
To access full text:
- Use the button to do an automated search to find the full text
- Search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog, or
- Request the article through interlibrary loan if UCLA does not own the full text
For more tips, see our guide on database searching.
is your link to full-text! Note that some sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text.
- Use the button to find the full text or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
- Request the article through interlibrary loan if UCLA does not own the full text.
For more tips, see our guide on database searching.
Searching for Journal Titles
If the item you find does not have full text online, copy the title of the journal and search for it in the UCLA Library Search. Paste the title into the Search box. Select your title from the list and see if UCLA owns the item you seek. If there is an Available Online link, you can find the full text online. When using these links be sure to check and see if the coverage includes the volume/year that you need.