Patient Care Handouts
- Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
From the AccessMedicine homepage, click on the "Patient Ed" tab to view the titles of the handouts. This resource includes approximately 100 patient education handouts on broad, common topics such as "macular degeneration." Each handout summarizes basic information about a condition and provides treatment options, and is between 1-3 pages in length. The handouts are drawn from the archive of McGraw-Hill's Postgraduate Medicine: The Practical Peer-Reviewed Journal for Primary Care Physicians.
- Essential Evidence PlusProvides links to government and organizational web sites that provide patient information about topics.
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new windowMedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. MedlinePlus pulls together quality health information from a variety of sources, and includes information on drugs and supplements, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive tutorials, health news, and much more. Most content is available in Spanish and various other languages. It does not include printable patient care handouts, but it is free. It can be accessed on any computer with a web browser and an Internet connection.
- MICROMEDEXFrom the Micromedex splash page, select "CareNotes System." Use the search box to search for topics, or use the tabs at the top to browse the available handouts.
Finding Drug Information
These specialized sources may prove useful at various points in your research.
- LexiCompAvailable only on Mednet network. Includes UCLA Drug Formulary, Clinical Laboratories and Pathology Services Reference Manual and Antimicrobial Susceptibility Summary.
- MICROMEDEXSearch for information about drugs and substances. MICROMEDEX includes the full-text of the PDR, USP-DI, Martindale’s, and many others. It also includes information about alternative therapies, patient handouts, and dosing tools. The database is updated quarterly, making it an ideal resource for information about new drugs.
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies utilizes a grading system which reflects the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition. It contains three sub-databases: Herbs & supplements, condition center, and alternative modalities. For each therapy covered by Natural Standard, a research team gathers scientific data and expert opinions. Validated rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence. Information is incorporated into comprehensive monographs which are designed to facilitate clinical decision making. Formerly called Natural Standard.