Medicine E-books
The Biomedical Library has several e-book packages covering clinical medicine and life sciences. The major book packages in the Health Sciences are:
- Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative and current medical data, updated daily. The central resource comprises databases of medical texts covering internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, patient care, and more. - antimicrobe.org This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains access to the full text of: Antimicrobial therapy and vaccines, vols. 1 & 2; the HIV clinical manual; and partial text of the Empiric as of January 18, 2006. Provides information on infectious diseases, including the microbes responsible and the anti-infective treatment options. - PsychiatryOnline Premium Package This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders), the American Journal of Psychiatry, and other psychiatric reference sources from American Psychiatric Publishing.
- Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides cross-searching of more than 46 medical texts including Stedman's Medical Dictionary and popular texts from McGraw Hill, Mosby, Lippincott, Williams & Wilkins, and the MEDLINE database. - Thieme MedOne Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focused coverage of every clinical and scientific course in the medical school curriculum. Practical two-page units featuring clear, concise text alongside full-color illustrations for easy reference and review Ideal course supplement, study companion, and refresher for students and educators. Formerly Thieme E-book Library. - AccessNeurology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AccessNeurology from McGraw-Hill Medical offers a new approach to neurology reference, research, and curricular instruction – all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online neurology resource covers the entire spectrum of neurology from the basics to specialty-specific content.
Key Titles in Medicine
Here are a few highlights from the collections above:
- Anatomy: Clinical Neuroanatomy
- Biochemistry: Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry
- Cardiology: Hurst's The Heart
- Critical Care: Principles of Critical Care
- Histology: Junqueira's Basic Histology
- Infectious Disease: Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases
- Internal Medicine: Harrison’s Online (e-version of Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine) (SFM recommended text)
- Microbiology: Sherris Medical Microbiology (SFM recommended text)
- Obstetrics & Gynecology: Williams Obstetrics, Williams Gynecology (SFM recommended text)
- Pharmacology: Katzung’s Basic & Clinical Pharmacology (SFM recommended text)
- Physiology: Review of Medical Physiology
- Psychiatry: Gabbard's Treatments of Psychiatric Disorders
- Surgery: Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery
Reference Texts:
Protocols packages
- Cold Spring Harbor Protocols This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Monographs, technical manuals, handbooks, review volumes, conference proceedings, scholarly journals and videotapes. These examine topics in molecular biology, genetics, development, virology, neurobiology, immunology and cancer biology.
- Wiley Online Library — Current Protocols
- This link opens in a new window
Current Protocols has been the leading source of laboratory protocols for over 25 years and comprises more than 14,000 straightforward, step-by-step procedures and techniques across 17 titles. - Journal of Visualized Experiments
- This link opens in a new window
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is an online journal publishing visualized (video-based) biological research studies. Publication aims to solve some of the most difficult problems in the contemporary life science research: low transparency and reproducibility of biological experiments, time-consuming learning of experimental techniques. Video-based visualization of biological techniques and procedures provide an effective solution to the problem described About us (Website main page)
- Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reproducible laboratory protocols and methods in the life and biomedical sciences. Includes Springer Protocols, Nature Methods, Nature Protocols, and Protocol Exchange.
- Protocols.ioInterdisciplinary protocol preprint platform.
Other Science E-book Packages
In addition to the clinical packages, we have several general life and health sciences packages, such as:
- Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 50 colloquia covering cell and molecular biology and biomedicine, including the neurosciences. Each colloquium is 50 ? 100 pages long. Each synthesizes an important research or development topic, written by a prominent contributor to the field
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Immense array of books, chapters, conference proceedings and journal articles in the social sciences and sciences, published by Springer-Verlag. After searching, unclick Preview Only Content, whose materials are not under UCLA subscription. Advanced search enabled at wheel icon to right of search.
- Taylor & Francis E-books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-books from Routledge, Psychology Press, and Focal Press, mostly in the humanities, social sciences, and behavioral sciences. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of the available titles. Also includes the scientific, technical, and medical reference books formerly contained in CRCnetBASE. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of titles beyond the former CRC collection. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fifteen databases, plus individual journals and e-books. Includes 2011-present IEEE-Wiley books.
