Skip to main content

Medicine

Librarian

Nisha Mody's picture
Nisha Mody

Access to Print Resources (as of 3/20/20)

 

As part of UCLA's transition to remote instruction, and the Library's necessary decision to close all Library locations, access to print resources and special collections is not available. Please take advantage of electronic resources such as ebooks and article databases. The UCLA community can connect to these online resources off-campus via the VPN or proxy server. Interlibrary loan is still available for electronic journal articles; however, ebooks cannot be borrowed on interlibrary loan. You can also temporarily access digitized print books via HathiTrust, although you cannot download or print these books--only do screenshots.

The library is also extending access to our print collection beyond what's available in HathiTrust through the Pilot Emergency Temporary Digititzation on Request Service (PETDOR). Please review the PETDOR FAQ for guidance on using this service. 

For help with any of our resources, please schedule an appointment with a librarian (audio/video Zoom appointments available), contact your subject librarian directly, or use our 24/7 chat service.    

    

Get Started with Research

Databases and Articles
Browse e-journals and search article databases

Books
Library catalogs, e-books, and reference sources

Drugs and Patient Education
Drug information, patient care tools and education

Mobile Apps
Access point of care mobile apps

Clinical Resources
Develop your clinical questions, browse systematic review databases, and guidelines

Info for New Medical Students
Find resources and services for new students 

Government and Association Resources
Government and organization resources on the web
EndNote
Citation guides, citation managers, and EndNote

Medicine Research in the UCLA Library

This Resources in Medicine guide is designed to serve as a starting point for locating information on any topic in the field of medicine. Print items listed with call numbers are located in the reference collection of the Biomedical Library unless otherwise indicated. Please ask at the reference desk if you are unable to find any material.

Research assistance in nursing is available at the Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.

VPN & Proxy Tutorials

The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!

VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
Download a UCLA VPN
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
Download a UCLA VPN
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies
Proxy Server
Proxy on Windows
Coming soon!