Study Tools
- Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative and current medical data, updated daily. The central resource comprises databases of medical texts covering internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, patient care, and more. - Thieme MedOne Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focused coverage of every clinical and scientific course in the medical school curriculum. Practical two-page units featuring clear, concise text alongside full-color illustrations for easy reference and review Ideal course supplement, study companion, and refresher for students and educators. Formerly Thieme E-book Library.
- MedIzzyFree Medical Learning Community
Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN and Proxy Tutorials
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!
If you still need help, you can contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.
- Virtual Private Networking (VPN)A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer. It stays connected until you log off.
- UCLA Online Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
VPN on Chromebook with Nadia
"I chose VPN because it is really simple to use!" - Nadia, Public Affairs
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies
Scientific Foundations of Medicine (SFM) and Foundations of Practice (FOP) - Course Textbooks
AccessMedicine E-Books:
Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, 16th edition
Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th edition
Greenspan's Basic and Clinical Endocrinology, 10th edition
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 21st edition
Sherris Medical Microbiology, 8th edition
Williams Gynecology, 4th edition
Williams Obstetrics, 26th edition
EBSCOHost E-Books:
Pathophysiology of Heart Disease, 6th edition.
PsychiatryOnline E-Books:
APA Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry, 7th edition
APA Publishing Textbook of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences, Sixth Edition
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR)
Dulcan’s Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Third Edition
Textbooks on Reserve at the Biomedical Library
Physiology: Cases and Problems (Linda S. Costanzo)
Evidence-Based Physical Diagnosis (Steven McGee, M.D.)
Neuroscience (Dale Purves et.al)
Robbins Basic Pathology 10th edition (Vinay Kumar et.al)
UC Library Search
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
Other Medicine Textbook Options
You can find print and online books in the UCLA Library Catalog and in our Medicine E-books site. You can also view online book collections:
- Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative and current medical data, updated daily. The central resource comprises databases of medical texts covering internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, patient care, and more.
- R2 Digital LibraryThe R2 Digital Library provides ebooks for health science collections featuring a comprehensive selection of medical, nursing and allied health.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Immense array of books, chapters, conference proceedings and journal articles in the social sciences and sciences, published by Springer-Verlag. After searching, unclick Preview Only Content, whose materials are not under UCLA subscription. Advanced search enabled at wheel icon to right of search.
Citing Sources
The AMA Manual of Style is the required citation style for learning issues and the common citation format for most medical literature. Section 3 of the manual gives examples of citations by type (e.g., journal article, book, etc.)