Subject Librarian
Southeast Asia Image Resources
For more information about image resources, visit the Image Resources subject guide.
-
Barbara Anello: Photographs of Southeast Asia and MoroccoField photography taken in Vietnam, Cambodia, Indonesia, and Morocco in 2007-2008 by Barbara Anello, photographer and art historian. Accessible through ARTStor.
-
Buddhist Archive of Photography, Luang Prabang, Laos, part 1 / Endangered Archives Programme, British LibraryAn archive of over 15,000 digitized photos of life in Theravada Buddhist monasteries in Luang Prabang from 1880 to the present. These photos document monks' lives, in the monastery and on pilgrimage, amid the political upheavals of twentieth-century Laos.
-
Buddhist Archive of Photography, Luang Prabang, Laos, part 2 / Endangered Archives Project, British LibraryAn archive of over 19,000 digitized photos of life in Theravada Buddhist monasteries in Luang Prabang from 1880 to the present. These photos document monks' lives, in the monastery and on pilgrimage, amid the political upheavals of twentieth-century Laos.
-
Everyday Life in Thailand / University of Michigan Library Digital CollectionContains 482 photographs of scenes from everyday life in Thailand.
-
Images from Indonesia / University of Michigan Library Digital CollectionsContains 545 photographs of everyday life in Indonesia.
-
Philippine Photographs Digital Archive / University of MichiganConsists of over 2,100 images taken from the University of Michigan's Special Collections Library photograph collections.
-
South East Asia Posters / University of Hawaii at Manoa Library Digital Image CollectionsPosters from Indonesia, Malaysia, Brunei, Thailand, the Philippines, and many more. The collection houses various types of posters from sociopolitical, environmental, radio, and TV promotion.
-
South East Asian Images & Texts Project / University of Wisconsin Digital CollectionsThis website offers access to high-quality, digitized historical photographs, for use in teaching and research. The collection emphasizes photos from the Philippines, with smaller collections from mainland Southeast Asia. It also includes a small number of digitized radio broadcasts from Cambodia.
-
Southeast Asia Art Foundation Archive / University of MichiganThis collection contains over 1000 photographs of Southeast Asian art, along with records of 13,000 additional photographs that are held at the Southeast Asia Art Foundation Archive at the University of Michigan.
-
Southeast Asia Collection / Art Gallery NSWThe Southeast Asian collection embraces the art of Cambodia, Thailand, Vietnam, Burma, Laos, Indonesia and the Philippines, focusing on stone and metal religious sculpture and ceramics as well as textiles. Many of these pieces come from historical periods known for high artistic achievement.
-
Southeast Asia Picture Database / Northern Illinois UniversityThis set includes more than 1100 photos of architecture, geographical locations, historical objects, religious events, and everyday life. The largest group of pictures comes from Cambodia.
-
Southeast Asia Visions: The John M. Echols Collection / Cornell University LibraryA collection of European travel accounts of pre-modern Southeast Asia. Over 350 books and journals include some 10,000 images, drawings, photographs, prints and maps, many of them in color.
-
Southeast Asian Art at LACMA: An Online Scholarly CatalogueIn-depth essays about Southeast Asian Art by professor and curator Robert L. Brown survey the holdings at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art. Each essay includes beautiful photos of the museum's sculptures, with enlightening captions.
Selected Digital Image Resources
Use these sites to locate images of, and metadata for, art, artifacts and monuments. Some are freely available, others are subscription services, so remote access may be necessary when accessing from off-campus.
-
AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
AP Newsroom (formerly AP Images) contains millions of photographs dating from 1826 to present day from the Associated Press. Includes thousands of graphics, audio files dating from the 1920s, and news stories and headlines from 1997 to the present.
-
ARTstor This link opens in a new windowHigh-resolution Images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Includes a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes. Images are contributed by museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists, and estates, from a variety of sources including the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts. UC campuses contribute additional images including: the Archivision Library, Saskia Art & Architecture images, the Visual Resources Collections from UCB, UCSB, UCI, UCLA, UCR, and the UCSC Library Instructional Collection. Now hosted on the JSTOR platform.
-
Calisphere This link opens in a new windowOver one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more from the collections digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.
-
Empire Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes documents segment called "The Visible Empire," which includes color plates, maps, and more.
-
Flickr CommonsA free public collection of photographs from major photography archives. Contributors include the Library of Congress, the Smithsonian Institution, and more.
-
Google ImagesSearches images available via Google, of mixed size and quality.
-
LIFE Photo ArchiveGrowing historical photo archive for LIFE magazine, hosted by Google.
-
NYPL Digital GalleryThousands of digital images from the New York Public Library's collections.
-
Online Museum Resources on Asian Art / Asia for Educators, Columbia UniversityList of links to Asian art collections in Asia, Europe and North America.
-
LUNA Commons This link opens in a new windowSee especially the 75 images in the Claire Holt Indonesian Art Images Collection and the maps in the David Rumsey Historical Map Collection.
-
VADS: The Online Resource for Visual ArtsThousands of visual arts images, including fashion, design, prints, and sculpture.
-
Wikimedia CommonsPublic domain and freely-licensed images, sound, and video. Note the ability to browse by classification (topics, locations, media type, and more!) in addition to keyword searching.
-
World Digital LibraryIncludes primary materials from world cultures, including manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, architectural drawings, and more.
-
WorldImagesContains thousands of images on a range of global topics. This free site also includes some coverage of clothing and dress.
UCLA Film and Video Collections
For more in-depth information about doing research on film and television, look at the Film and Television subject guide.
The repositories below house collections that are publicly cataloged or listed. Each has a different access policy and many are administered by separate campus entities, so it is important to check individual websites even though many holdings appear in the UCLA Library Catalog.
-
Instructional Media Collections and ServicesVideo collection funded for instructional on-campus use. Though holdings are also listed in the UCLA Library Catalog, users can double-check the separate IMCS catalog available from the website.
-
UCLA Ethnomusicology ArchiveThe Archive’s collection of more than 150,000 audio, video, print, and photographic items documents musical expressions throughout the world and includes unique field recordings as well as rare commercial recordings.
-
Film and Television ArchiveThe Film and Television Archive has research copies of many titles, with particular strength in Hollywood film. The catalog is also distinct, and can be accessed via the Archive's homepage. Or, in the UCLA Library Catalog, click on "Select Collections."
-
UCLA Film and Television Archive News and Public Affairs (NAPA) CollectionConsists of over 100,000 news programs and broadcasts taped off air from 1979 to 2003. Titles from the collection can be made available for research viewing on the UCLA campus in the Instructional Media Lab (IML), located in room 270 of the Powell Library. Viewing requests must be made in advance through the Archive Research and Study Center (ARSC).
-
UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowIndividual libraries with selected video and DVD holdings: Music, East Asian, Biomedical, Law (for Law students only), Arts, and SRLF. You can limit to “Visual Materials” in the catalog to search all of these. Access and loan options vary, however.
Selected Online Text Resources about Film
Here are some online resources for finding reviews, articles, and other information about films. Some are freely available, others are subscription services, so remote access may be necessary when accessing from off-campus.
-
AFI Catalog This link opens in a new windowThe online AFI (American Film Institute) Catalog draws its content from printed volumes that document every American feature film from 1893 to 1974. Also includes some short films from the first era of filmmaking, 1893–1910. Provides detailed filmographic information, including music credits, release dates, plot descriptions, and bibliographies. See also the AFI web version of the catalog.
-
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowArticles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text.
-
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowSearches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives.
-
Film Index International This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth indexing of international films from the silent period to the present, with selected biographical information, searchable plot summaries, and full cast and crew lists. Based on the Summary of Film and Television database maintained by the British Film Institute.
-
Moving Images of the Pacific Islands : A Guide to Films and Videos / University of Hawai'iLists more than 3600 films about the Pacific Islands; includes bibliographic information about each film.
Streaming Video Databases
-
Alexander Street Press Video and moreCross-search of all UCLA subscriptions to Alexander Street Press video databases: Filmakers Library, Ethnographic Video, Dance in Video, Theatre in Video, Nursing Education in Video, LGBT Studies in Video, Meet the Press, and Counseling and Therapy in Video. Includes audio, video, textual materials, and websites.
-
British PatheHistorical news reels from Great Britain, on both cultural and political topics. Near the upper right-hand corner of the home page, click on "85,000 Historical Films." Then in the Search box near the top of the page, type the name of a country.
-
Khmer Dance and Music Project55 videos about the preservation of Khmer musical and dance traditions in the United States. The videos can be streamed online.
-
Hmong in California7 videos about the preservation of Hmong cultural traditions in the United States. The videos can be streamed online.
-
Virtual AngkorA virtual reality re-creation of life in Angkor, the capital city of the Khmer Empire, around 1300 CE. The site includes modules on architecture and kingship, water and climate, and trade and diplomacy.