Subject Librarian
General Online Reference Resources
Use these reference resources to provide an overview of your topic. If connecting from home, make sure that your computer is configured for off-campus access and that you have logged in to the proxy server or VPN.
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources, primarily in the social sciences and humanities.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. UC subscription allows limited simultaneous users, so if you can't connect try again later.
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A good place to start, but note that it is an index to over 15 million articles in 11,000 subject encyclopedias and handbooks, both print and online and does not provide full-text articles. Instead, it will connect you to our catalog so you know where to find the appropriate encyclopedia, dictionary or other reference work. You will be linked to UCLA's holdings for any entries you find.
Online Topical Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
If connecting from home, make sure that your computer is configured for off-campus access and that you have logged in to the proxy server or VPN.
- Religions of the world: A Comprehensive encyclopedia of beliefs and practices / edited by J. Gordon Melton and Martin Baumann2nd ed. Offers a country-by-country description of the history and growth of religious communities within a broader social context.
- Greenwood encyclopedia of women’s issues worldwide, vol. 1 : Asia and Oceania / editor-in-chief, Lynn Walter ; volume editor, Manisha DesaiDescribes and analyzes the historical, cultural, socioeconomic, and political forces that impact women's lives in each country.
- Berg fashion libraryProvides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history.. Browsable by time (1600 to date) and by place (click on world map).
- Garland encyclopedia of world music online, vol. 4 / [advisory editors, Bruno Nettl and Ruth Stone] ; volume editor, Terry E. MillerScholarly essays on the historical development of musical practice within Southeast Asia as a whole and within its individual musical cultures.
- Dictionary of the modern politics of Southeast Asia / Joseph Chinyong LiowLong seen as an arena for superpower rivalry, Southeast Asia is increasingly coming into its own by locating itself at the forefront of regional integration initiatives that involve not only the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, but major external powers such as the United States, China, India, Japan, and Australia as well. The past two decades have seen issues regarding unresolved territorial disputes, regional and global financial crises, terrorism, pandemics, and the creation of the new state of East Timor.
- Routledge encyclopedia of modernismIncludes modernist aesthetics, art, architecture, music, dance, theater, film, and literature.
Online Biographical Resources
These are licensed resources. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access and that you have logged in to the proxy server or VPN.
- World Biographical Information System Online (WBIS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains biographical profiles of people from all centuries as well as all countries and regions worldwide. Compiles biographical articles from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 20th century, and reproduces these original documents as facsimile images on the screen.
Print Encyclopedias
Southeast Asia : A Historical encyclopedia, from Angkor Wat to East Timor by Call Number: Young Research Library DS524 .S68 2004ISBN: 1576077705An in-depth, historical encyclopedia of Southeast Asia, with coverage from prehistoric times to the end of the 20th century for each country in the region. This three-volume work covers archaeology and prehistory, politics and culture, socioeconomics, ethno-history, language, institutions and organizations, wars and conflicts, personalities, geography, religions and folklore, and environment.
Encyclopaedia of the South-East Asian ethnography : Communities and tribes by Call Number: YRL Reference Reading Room DS523.3 .E53 2004ISBN: 9788187746966This encyclopaedia explores descriptive summaries of 188 ethnic groups written by noted scholars, which range from a few lines to ten pages in length. Each entry deals with the physical, historical, social, political, economic, religious, and cultural information about the ethnic groups of 11 Southeast Asian nations.
The Encyclopedia of World Cultures Southeast and East Asia by Call Number: Young Research Library GN307 .E53 1991 (Building Use Only)ISBN: 9780816118144Date: 1993-03-04This resource covers Japan, Korea and Southeast Asia. Including major groups such as the Vietnamese, Koreans, Japanese as well as the rural and tribal peoples of the mainland, and indigenous peoples of the Philippines.
Encyclopedia of prehistory, vol. 3 : East Asia and Oceania by Call Number: YRL Reference Reading Room GN710 .E53 2001ISBN: 9780306462573The Encyclopedia of Prehistory, with regionally organized entries on each major archaeological tradition, is a comprehensive overview of human history from two million years ago to the historic period.
Print Topical Dictionaries
Unless otherwise stated, these selected topical dictionaries are available in print only. To find other dictionaries—both subject and linguistic—search for "dictionar? southeast asia*" or "dictionar? indochin*" in the UC Library Search. To restrict your search to materials at the UCLA Library, type your search terms, press Enter, then select "UCLA Library Catalog (excluding articles)" from the drop-down menu on the right end of the search bar. You can also search for individual countries or regions.
A Political and economic dictionary of South-East Asia by Call Number: Southern Regional Library Facility DS518.1 .T36 2004ISBN: 1857432266This Dictionary provides definitions and explanations of economic and political terms and references relating to southeast Asia. The book contains entries covering various areas and issues, such as the recent history and economy of each country in the region, ethnic groups, political parties and party leaders, politicians, conflicts, regions, border disputes, key businesses and stock markets.
Historical dictionary of ancient Southeast Asia by Call Number: YRL Reference Reading Room DS524 .M56 2007ISBN: 9780810855229Anyone who has seen the stunning ruins at Angkor, Bagan, and Barabudur will readily understand why Southeast Asia is the host of so many United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization World Heritage Sites. As beautiful as the spiraling towers, intricate carvings, and delicate bas-reliefs adorning these monuments are, however, they just barely scratch the surface of the immense historical and cultural heritage of the region.
Historical dictionary of the peoples of the Southeast Asian massif by Call Number: YRL Reference Reading Room DS524 .M54 2006ISBN: 9780810854666Dwelling in the highland areas of Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Thailand, Myanmar and southwest China are hundreds of ethnic groups. Together their population adds up to 80 million, yet within their home countries they are treated as minorities. They have been forced to dwell in the highlands while their enemies have occupied the more fertile lowlands.
Historical dictionary of United States-Southeast Asia relations by Call Number: YRL Reference Reading Room DS525.9.U6 W44 2008ISBN: 9780810855427Historically, U.S. policy and diplomacy with Southeast Asia has been defined by U.S. interests in the region--maintaining free lanes of communication through the South China Sea, gaining access to the resources and markets of Southeast Asia, or containing the spread of Communism.
Dictionary of South and Southeast Asian art by Call Number: Arts Library Reference N7300 .C438 2004ISBN: 974957561XFrom abhayamadra through zoomorphic, this is an essential dictionary for anyone stepping into the fascinating world of South and Southeast Asian art. With over 1,300 entries, this revised edition makes a handy reference. Explanations are succinct and easy to understand.
Dictionary of traditional South-East Asian theatre by Call Number: Powell Library and the Southern Regional Library Facility PN2860 .G48 1994ISBN: 9789676530325This comprehensive reference to the terminology of Southeast Asian theatre includes descriptions of genres, characters, physical stages, performance techniques, rituals, costumes, masks, and puppetry; definitions of aesthetic terminology; and synopses of major literary sources and important play cycles.
Historical Dictionary of the Indochina War (1945-1954) by Call Number: YRL DS553.1 .G67 2012ISBN: 9780824836047This first historical dictionary in English of the Indochina War provides the most comprehensive account to date of one of the most important conflicts of the twentieth century. Readers will not only find information on politics and military campaigns; they will also discover the remarkable impact this war had on intellectual, social, cultural, economic, and artistic domains in France, Indochina, and elsewhere.
Dictionnaire de la guerre d'Indochine by Call Number: Young Research Library DS553.1 D35 2006ISBN: 9782200269258Dictionary of the Indochinese War, 1945-1954. In French.
Historical dictionary of Brunei Darussalam by Call Number: YRL Reference Reading Room DS650.5 .S56 2017ISBN: 9781442264588After being a British protectorate for about 96 years, the modern state of Brunei Darussalam (Abode of Peace) obtained its independence from Great Britain in 1984. Governed by a royal family, the first sultan was crowned about 650 years ago. Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah, the current ruler, is the 29th sultan of the lineage. Brunei is well-known around the world for having a high per capita income. (2015) a year.
Historical dictionary of Burma (Myanmar) by Call Number: YRL Reference Reading Room DS528.34 .S44 2017ISBN: 9781538101827Myanmar is struggling to emerge from crisis after more than a half century of hard-line military rule and cultural, diplomatic and economic isolation. Shortly after the dissolution of its military regime in 2011, Daw Aung San Suu Kyi (the leader of the country's pro-democracy movement since 1988) and her supporters entered the new Parliament as legislators. Myanmar continues to face daunting challenges: One of the poorest countries in Southeast Asia, Myanmar remains torn apart by longstanding ethnic conflicts that have made a nationwide peace agreement elusive.
Historical dictionary of Cambodia by Call Number: YRL Reference Reading Room DS554.25 .C67 2003ISBN: 0810845245Chronicling this country's evolution from absolute monarchy in the pre-colonial era up to the semi-democracy of today, this dictionary focuses on the personalities, constitutional dynamics, and major economic developments of the recent Sihanouk, Lon Nol, Pol Pot and Hun Sen administrations.
Historical Dictionary of Indonesia by Call Number: YRL Reference Reading Room DS633 .K34 2015ISBN: 9780810871953A wide-flung archipelago lying between the Pacific and Indian Oceans, Indonesia is the world's most populous Islamic country. For over two thousand years it was a crossroads on the major trading route between China and India, but it was not brought together into a single entity until the Dutch unified the archipelago in the early 20th century. In 1945, local peoples demanded their independence from the Dutch, founding the Republic of Indonesia This dictionary has over 900 entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture.
Historical dictionary of Laos by Call Number: YRL Reference Reading Room DS555.25 .S78 2008ISBN: 9780810856240Within mainland Southeast Asia, Laos is the state with the smallest population, the weakest military, and the least developed economy. Yet a glance at the map shows how strategically it is positioned, at the crossroads between Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, and China. This book presents historical chronology, maps, and dictionary entries on important persons, places, events, social institutions that influence political, economic, social, and cultural developments in Laos.
Historical dictionary of Malaysia by Call Number: YRL Reference Reading Room DS596 .O58 2018ISBN: 9781538108840Malaysia is one of the most intriguing countries in Asia. It consists of several historically distinct states. Its population comes from three large ethnic groups--Chinese, Indians, and Malays and related groups. Spoken languages vary at home, but Bahasa Malaysia is the official language, and nearly everyone speaks English. There is also a mixture of religions--Islam, Hinduism, Sikhism, Daoism, Confucianism, Christianity, and some older indigenous beliefs as well
Historical dictionary of the Philippines by Call Number: Young Research Library DS667 .G85 2012ISBN: 9780810872462This resource covers more than four centuries of Filipino history. It contains more than four hundred entries on important persons, places, events, and institutions, from the Spanish colonial period to 2010.- Historical Dictionary of Singapore by Call Number: YRL Reference Reading Room DS610.4 .M85 1991ISBN: 9780810825048Entries in this dictionary highlight and trace Singapore's history from a legendary past and its modern founding in 1819 to its evolution to its emergence as a post-war battleground of communist, socialist, democratic, and colonial interests and ideologies. With bibliography, chronology, maps, index, and tables of government leaders, cabinet members, general election results, and population by ethnicity and Chinese dialect groups.
Historical dictionary of Thailand by Call Number: YRL Reference Reading Room DS571 .S578 2013ISBN: 9780810878020Throughout its history, Thailand has shown remarkable resiliency, adaptability, and creativity in responding to serious threats and crises. While focusing on the modern period, this book reaches back to ancient kingdoms to show the impressive rise to a modern democracy governed by a king. An economic "tiger," Thailand has become a prime tourist destination.
Historical dictionary of Vietnam by Call Number: YRL Reference Reading Room DS556.25 .D85 2006ISBN: 9780810850538This reference work on the history of Vietnam encompasses the earlier kingdoms, the period of French Indochina, the wars for liberation, the Vietnam War, and much more. Hundreds of dictionary entries cover political, economic, social and cultural aspects of this history as well as the major cities and geographic features.
Historical Dictionary of Ho Chi Minh City by Call Number: YRL Reference Reading Room DS559.93.S2 C67 2013ISBN: 9780857282354
Recommend a Reference Resource
Is there a reference resource that you think the library should have? You can suggest a book purchase here.