Online Reference Tools
Use these reference books to provide an overview of your topic, define terms, and list recommended readings. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text online of assorted reference books that are cross-searchable
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- This link opens in a new window
Major online social science encyclopedia, including many entries relevant to the study of gender and sexuality. - Multimedia Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World
- This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Women in Today’s World looks at women today and delves into contexts of being female in the 21st century. The scope of the Encyclopedia focuses on women's status starting approximately in the year 2000 and going forward.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text reference works, including the Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence, the Encyclopedia of Gender and Society, the Encyclopedia of Global Health, and the Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society. - SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books, reference works, and instructional videos about qualitative and quantitative methodologies in the sciences and social sciences. Includes Research Tools (online tools for planning research and choosing methods), Cases (examples of real research), Video (research process, data science, and methods) and Datasets (sample data chosen specifically to support practice with various statistical analysis methods). Includes Diversifying and Decolonizing Research, and Sage Research Methods Video: Quantitative and Mixed Methods. - CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes CQ Researcher, CQ Weekly, CQ Almanac, and more to provide reliable background information on a variety of issues. - Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A good place to start, but note that it is an index to over 15 million articles in 11,000 subject encyclopedias and handbooks, both print and online and does not provide full-text articles. Instead, it will connect you to our catalog so you know where to find the appropriate encyclopedia, dictionary or other reference work. You will be linked to UCLA's holdings for any entries you find.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains several searchable interdisciplinary reference works from Oxford. - MedlinePlus This link opens in a new windowGeneral health information from the National Library of Medicine.
- Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures
- This link opens in a new window
Online edition of this major multi-volume work on numerous aspects of religion and culture, encompassing many geographic regions.