Research Assistance
Arts-related research assistance is available several different ways:
- Book a virtual reference desk appointment via the Arts Library (available 11-4 on weekdays, excluding inter-sessions, summer sessions, and official holidays).
- Send a question via e-mail to the Arts Library.
- Book a Zoom consultation with a subject librarian.
- For full options, including 24/7 digital chat reference, see the Library's Research Help page.
Librarian
UC Library Search
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
Major Online Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes major journals in many disciplines. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text publications focusing on the impact of gender across multiple subject areas. Include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and more.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations for a wide range of topics in the study of women and gender, 1972-present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
- Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe on topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship. Full-text access to journals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies. Information on women internationally includes cross-disciplinary methodology. - PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics from 1972 to the present. Includes PAIS Archive, which covers 1915 to 1976.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of major full text law journals, covering many issues related to women and the law. Click on "Law Journal Library" to search.
VPN & Proxy Tutorials
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!
If you still need help, you can contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.
- Virtual Private Networking (VPN)A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer. It stays connected until you log off.
- UCLA Online Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
VPN on Chromebook with Nadia
"I chose VPN because it is really simple to use!" - Nadia, Public Affairs
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies