Google Scholar
Scholarly v. Popular
Popular Press Articles
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowDesigned specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,750 general reference publications dating as far back as 1975. Also includes biographies, full text primary source documents, and an image collection.
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new windowContains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day.
- Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains historical backfiles of several leading consumer magazines: Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, Town and Country, Woman's Day, and Women's International Network News. UCLA has access to collections 1 and 2 of this database.
- Vanity Fair Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Presents the popular magazine in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format, dating from its very first run from September 1913-1936, and relaunch from March 1983-October 2015. Chronicles popular culture, fashion, celebrity portraiture, politics, and more.
- People Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Online collection of the prominent, popular entertainment magazine dating from its very first issue in March 1974 through December 2000, in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.
- Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.
General Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes major journals in many disciplines.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are NOT included. Holdings vary by journal.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowContains indexing for over 700 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Includes 1969-present.
Gender and Sexuality Studies Databases
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text publications focusing on the impact of gender across multiple subject areas. Include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and more.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations for a wide range of topics in the study of women and gender, 1972-present.
- Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe on topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship. Full-text access to journals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies. Information on women internationally includes cross-disciplinary methodology.
- LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
Contains indexing and abstracts for LGBTQ-specific core periodicals, core books and reference works. In addition, other source-types such as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc. are represented. Former database title: LGBT Life.
Social and Behavioral Sciences Databases
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles, books, conference papers, and reports in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare. Covers research, policy, and practice literature from 1970 to the present.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Includes 2500 legal journals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations (with abstracts) of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1980-present.
Ethnic Studies Databases
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowHistorical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases, including International Index to Black Periodicals, Black Literature Index and Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience (interdisciplinary essays written by leading scholars on the Black Experience).
- Chicano Database This link opens in a new windowBibliographic materials on Mexican-American topics 1967 to the present. Scope expanded in 1992 to include the broader Latinx experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new windowIndexes books, essays, journal articles, US and Canadian government documents, and other publications concerning the history, life, and culture of native North Americans from the 16th century to the present. Contains the citations from the eight volumes of the Ethnographic Bibliography of North America as well as additional new citations.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Articles are drawn from more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. Produced by the UCLA Latin American Center.