Online Primary Sources
Selected links for websites and subscription resources containing primary sources relevant to dance. See also the Newspapers and Performance Reviews tab on this guide.
- Online Archive of California (OAC) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to finding aids for manuscripts, photographs, and works of art held in libraries, museums, archives, and other institutions across California, including UCLA. Also includes some images and materials online.
- UCLA Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowRare and unique digital materials developed by the UCLA Library to support education, research, service, and creative expression, including the AIDS Poster Collection, the Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive and more.
- American Broadsides and Ephemera This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Facsimiles of broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900, as well as ephemera printed between 1749 and 1900. Includes sailing cards, confessions, playbills, menus, music programs, and more. Based on the American Antiquarian Society's collection.
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published between 1741 and 1900, these periodicals include special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children and women magazines, and many other historically significant periodicals.
- An American Ballroom CompanionDance Instruction Manuals, ca. 1490-1920, from the Library of Congress
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
High-resolution Images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Includes a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes. Images are contributed by museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists, and estates, from a variety of sources including the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts. UC campuses contribute additional images including: the Archivision Library, Saskia Art & Architecture images, the Visual Resources Collections from UCB, UCSB, UCI, UCLA, UCR, and the UCSC Library Instructional Collection.
- British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries. - Calisphere This link opens in a new window
Over one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more from the collections digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.
- The Dancing Master 1651-1728An Illustrated Compendium by Robert M. Keller
- Oral History Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 2,700 collections of oral history in English from around the world. Provides keyword searching of full-text transcripts when available, plus links to audio and video files.
- Pioneers of Chinese Dance Digital ArchiveFrom the University of Michigan, this digital photograph collection is focused on twentieth-century Chinese dance. Currently including more than 1,500 digital images.