Major Campus Collections
Only a small percentage of film and television content is available through streaming platforms. See below for more information on other campus collections in physical formats.
- Film & Video Collections at UCLAResearch guide to both physical and streaming collections at UCLA.
- Instructional Media Collections and Services (Center for the Advancement of Teaching)UCLA's central resource for the collection and maintenance of instructional media. The collection includes several thousand videotapes, laserdiscs, DVDs, and other media as well as selected department, media lab, and study center collections.
- UCLA Film & Television ArchiveThe UCLA Film & Television Archive holds over 350,000 motion pictures and 170,000 television programs, spanning the entire course of film and broadcasting history. The collection includes independent and studio-produced shorts and feature films, documentaries, local and network TV programming, commercials, news and public affairs broadcasts, LGBTQIA media, and 27 million feet of newsreels produced between 1919 and 1971.
Streaming Databases
UCLA Library subscribes to a number of online databases for streaming media. Below are selected resources available for Bollywood related media. Please see this guide for more information.
- Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new windowUCLA subscribes to several dozen distinct databases hosted by Alexander Street Press. This interface allows you to search across most of them. Click on "My Collections" to see the list of subscribed databases.
- Avalon This link opens in a new window
Avalon houses streaming audio and video collections at UCLA. Content is restricted to UCLA users and requires additional UCLA authentication for use both on and off campus via the "Sign in" link.
- Ethnographic Video Online: Foundational Films This link opens in a new windowVolumes I and II of Ethnographic Video Online. Contains streaming video of documentary footage focused on the study of human culture and behavior. Includes ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, interviews, field notes, and study guides. See also volume III, Indigenous Voices; and, volume IV, Festivals and Archives.
- Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI) Educational Streaming Site This link opens in a new windowEAI's Educational Streaming Site is a subscription-access layer of the EAI Online Catalogue. Full-length streaming videos are available for selected artists, with an emphasis on video and media art, performance art, and experimental film. Artists and titles are added on an ongoing basis. The campus subscription to Electronic Arts Intermix was initially funded for the campus by the generous support of the UCLA Art Department.
- Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new windowOnline video collection featuring hundreds of documentaries covering a range of topics. Subjects include race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. UCLA subscribes to volumes I and II.
- Hearst Metrotone News Collection (UCLA Film & Television Archive) This link opens in a new windowNewsreels from the UCLA Film & Television Archive. In cooperation with the UCLA Film & Television Archive, the Packard Humanities Institute is developing this website as part of a joint project to make the Hearst newsreel collection more easily accessible to the public. Includes newsreels shown in theatres from 1929 to 1967.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowOn-demand streaming video service for educational institutions with thousands of documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. More information on Kanopy access and use is available on this guide.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowSelected streaming video titles from Swank Digital Campus, licensed for use by individual researchers and class screenings/reserves by instructor request.
Criterion Collection
- Currently, the Criterion Channel is only available to individual subscribers, and not to libraries.
- Select Criterion Collection films are available streaming online for UCLA students, staff, and faculty, via Kanopy.
- UCLA Instructional Media Collections and Services includes hundreds of Criterion Collection DVDs in their holdings.
Selected Films on Kanopy
"Mr. Nath lives a very wealthy lifestyle in India along with his wife, Sushma, and a 6 year old son, Raj."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Sholay (dir. Ramesh Sippy, 1975)
"In the village of Ramgarh, retired police chief Thakur Baldev Singh (Sanjeev Kumar) plots to bring down the notorious bandit Gabbar Singh (Amjad Khan) and enlists the help of two lesser criminals, Jai (Amitabh Bachchan) and Veeru (Dharmendra). When Gabbar attacks the village, however, Jai and Veeru wonder why Thakur does nothing to help them. They soon learn that he has no arms, and that Gabbar was the one who cut them off. Enraged by this, they redouble their efforts to help."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
"Sita and Radha are two Indian women stuck in loveless marriages. While Sita is trapped in an arranged relationship with her cruel and unfaithful husband, Jatin (Jaaved Jaafei), Radha is married to his brother, Ashok (Kulbhushan Kharbanda), a religious zealot who believes in suppressing desire. As the two women recognize their similar situations, they grow closer, and their relationship becomes far more involved than either of them could have anticipated."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Maqbool (dir. Vishal Bhardwaj, 2003)
"In Mumbai's criminal underworld, the lord of all lords is Jahangir Khan (Pankaj Kapoor). Those loyal to him include Maqbool (Irfan Khan), his chief. But Maqbool is in love with Nimmi (Tabu), Jahangir's mistress, who convinces him to be ambitious and take over the empire. After maneuvering potential rivals out of the way, Maqbool betrays Jahangir, murdering him in his own bed. However, it isn't long before both Maqbool and Nimmi are haunted by the ghosts of their treacherous deeds."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Gangs of Wasseypur (dir. Anurag Kashyap, 2013) Part 1 and 2
"An ambitious and extraordinary blood-and-bullets fueled crime saga that charts seventy years in the lives – and spectacular deaths – of two mafia-like families fighting for control of the coal-mining town of Wasseypur, India.
Inspired by the real-life exploits of local gangs and beginning with the bandit-like career of Shahid Khan in the 1940s, the film follows the ruthless rise of his son Sardar and his offspring, the surreally-named Danish, Perpendicular and Definitive Khans and their numerous wives and girlfriends."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Amazon Prime Video, Apple TV+, Disney+, Eithusan, HBO Max, Hulu, Netflix, Paramount+, Network and Cable Television Platforms (CBS All Access, Peacock, Starz, etc.)
- Titles offered exclusively through online platforms that sell only to the home market are not available via the UCLA Library. These companies only sell and offer subscriptions to individual account holders, and do not offer an institutional license for libraries that provides access via IP address recognition. The only legal option for viewing content from these platforms is for individuals to subscribe. The websites Just Watch and Reelgood are examples of websites to discover which commercial vendor(s) might be offering streaming access to this type of media.
- Netflix does allow classroom screenings of some documentaries for "one-time educational purposes" from a personal account. More information.
- Netflix has also established a freely available Educational Documentaries Youtube channel with selected documentary features and series.
- Kanopy offers selected HBO Documentary Films on their platform (but only documentary content).
- Institutional access to films that are distributed outside of these platforms may be possible via purchase of physical media like DVDs, Library streaming media databases, and/or through the Instructional Media Library.