Using Databases to Find Articles
Articles are indexed in many databases. No single database covers all journals. Depending on your topic, you may need to use several databases to find what you need. See Choosing and Using Library Databases for more tips.
Searching for Articles in Databases, Journals, and Blogs
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new windowIndex of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia and Asian Studies (East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, Indian Ocean) published since 1971.
- Critical Collective This link opens in a new windowOnline initiative by art curator and critic Gayatri Sinha, working towards building knowledge in the visual and cinematic arts in India. Includes essays, e-books, and other writing about exhibitions, art history, and lens-based arts such as photography and film.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowBiographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Combines the core Gale Group literary databases: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Complements Literature Criticism Online.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowArticles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- SAGE Complete Journals This link opens in a new windowCollection of journals available from SAGE Publications.
- Film Companion"Film Companion is India's leading English language entertainment journalism platform."
- Filmfare"Filmfare has been covering the lifestyle and careers of Indian film celebrities for the last 60 years and its digital avatar carries forward that legacy in a zany new form."
- Mr. & Mrs. 55 Classic Bollywood Revisited"Mr. and Mrs. 55 have joined forces to share their Hindi lyric translations of classic Bollywood songs and their musings on the movies, music, and poetry from the Golden Age of Hindi cinema."
- UCLA Social Science MANASArticles on Indian Cinema, including directors, films, history and aesthetics, and stars.
Selected Articles
For more articles, go to "Selected Topics" sections.
