Bollywood

Bollywood film is the national cinema of India, describing movies made in Mumbai, distributed nationally across India and with their own production, distribution and exhibition networks worldwide. This informative screen guide reflects the work of key directors, major stars and important music directors and screenplay writers.

There are many controversial aspects of today's media system, and this captivating encyclopedia examines the most significant of the topics currently being debated. Arranged alphabetically, approximately 100 entries cover background, definitions, notable programs, significant media events and their historical significance, and important future trends. Issues from sexuality to sensationalism, from surveillance to tabloid news, are covered here in an incisive and informative manner.

Often misunderstood to represent all Hindi cinema, Bollywood, as a distinct industry operating within Indian cinema, has not received due attention. Replete with its own set of motifs, plot devices, tropes, and even themes, much of what is produced shares not only a devoted audience, but also big budgets, stars, larger-than-life sets, and enormous revenues. In Bollywood, M.K. Raghavendra maps the dramatic journey of this popular, mainstream phenomenon.

This title begins with seven essays providing a historical analysis of Hindi films. It then carries on to provide insight into the Indian film industry's internal dynamics. It also includes special contributions from prominent figures in the industry and interviews with Hindi film legends.

No Marketing Blurb

In more than 1, 800 pages of alphabetical entries, each ranging from 500 to 12, 000 words, The Encyclopedia Of Race And Racism, 2nd Edition, provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism.

India: A Global Studies Handbook unites the geography, history, culture, notable people, and events into a wide-ranging yet concise work that brings this fascinating land to the page. Of interest to academic and general audiences, this volume presents an uncomplicated look at the varied, bustling nation of India. From geography that includes the Himalayas to a cultural fabric built upon the often-criticized caste system, India remains a land of mystery and intrigue.

In six volumes, the Encyclopedia offers authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Extensive historical and cultural overviews of many nations appear along with articles on specific dance forms, music and costumes, performances, biographies of dancers and choreographers, and much more. The set features nearly 2,000 alphabetically arranged articles, an exhaustive index, full cross-references, and more than 2,300 illustrations.

The Oxford Handbook of Screendance Studies offers a full overview of the histories, practices, and critical and theoretical foundations of the rapidly changing landscape of screendance. Drawing on their practices, technologies, theories, and philosophies, scholars from the fields of dance, performance, visual art, cinema and media arts articulate the practice of screendance as an interdisciplinary, hybrid form that has yet to be correctly sited as an academic field worthy of critical investigation.

Pop Culture India! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle follows the rise of modern India's pop culture world, especially since the 1980s, when relaxed censorship and economic liberalization led to an explosion in movies, music, mass media, consumerism, spiritual practices, and more. It is a captivating introduction to a diverse nation whose appetite for entertainment has led to some surprising twists and turns in recent history.

This companion is the first study of caste and its representation in Indian cinema. It unravels the multiple layers of caste that feature directly and indirectly in Indian movies, to examine not only the many ways caste pervades Indian society and culture but also how the struggle against it adopts multiple strategies.

Bringing together contributions from leading scholars in the field, this Handbook looks at the complex reasons for this remarkable journey. Combining a historical and thematic approach, the Handbook discusses how Indian cinemas need to be understood in their historical unfolding as well as their complex relationships to social, economic, cultural, political, ideological, aesthetic, technical and institutional discourses.

The book provides a comprehensive overview of the historiographical specialisation and sophistication of the history of colonialism in South Asia. It explores the classic works of earlier generations of historians and offers an introduction to the rapid and multifaceted development of historical research on colonial South Asia since the 1990s.

The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies provides an invaluable resource for students and scholars in the overlapping areas of gender, feminist, queer, masculinity, and sexuality studies; and acknowledges the growing interdisciplinary impact of these fields. Includes Bollywood entry that summarizes trends in Hindi film representations of gender, sexuality, and religion over the past few decades.

Mumbai, formerly known as Bombay, is a megalopolis of dramatic diversity and heartbreaking extremes, with wealthy areas located just steps away from the searing poverty of its huge slums. The home of Bollywood, Mumbai is also the epicenter of India's film industry and its foremost film location. Through the lens of Mumbai's manifold cinematic representations, World Film Locations: Mumbai explores the sheer complexity of this incomparable city. This volume comprises insightful essays and beautifully illustrated scene analyses by leading scholars and film critics who explore the ways filmmakers from India and abroad have represented Mumbai's astonishing urban and human landscape.