Research Guides: Film and Video Collections: Streaming Video Collections: Narrative, Documentary and Performance

Connect from Off-Campus

UCLA students, faculty, and staff can access Library subscription databases from off-campus using either of the following options.

UCLA Virtual Private Network (VPN)
A program you install on your computer. Already built-in on most mobile devices.
UCLA OnLine Proxy Server
A simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.

Los Angeles Public Library E-Media

LAPL Movies, TV, and Videos
Los Angeles residents may also want to explore e-media resources from LAPL, including hoopla, Digitalia Film Library, and the public library version of Kanopy.

Lumière: Berkeley Language Center Library of Film & Clips

Lumière home page
FOR INSTRUCTORS ONLY. Online library contains 20,396 clips drawn from 5,806 films in 62 languages. Clips and films in Lumière may be used only by faculty as part of a course offered by not-for-profit educational institutions. UCLA faculty can use this tool, but must first create an account online.

Streaming Video Databases: Narrative, Documentary, and Performance

Library subscription databases with streaming video content, including narrative features and shorts, documentaries, performance documentation, and more. See tabs for news and free internet collections as well.

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for educational institutions with thousands of documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. More information on Kanopy access and use is available on this guide.
Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UCLA subscribes to several dozen distinct databases hosted by Alexander Street Press. This interface allows you to search across most of them. Click on "My Collections" to see the list of subscribed databases.
Africa and the New Imperialism: European Borders on the African Continent, 1870-1914 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Africa and the New Imperialism documents the period of rapid colonial expansion by European powers across the African continent during the late nineteenth and early twentieth century. Includes rare printed works, diaries and journals, correspondence, maps, photographs, and film footage.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Videos of the human anatomy for use by individual medical and dental students, medical practitioners, allied health sciences students, and researchers interested in in human structure.
African Diaspora This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1860-present, and includes digitized primary source documents, secondary sources and videos from around the world with a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France. With content from The National Archives and Records Administration (US), National Archives at Kew (UK), Royal Anthropological Institute, and Senate House Library (University of London),
Avalon This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Avalon houses streaming audio and video collections at UCLA. Content is restricted to UCLA users and requires additional UCLA authentication for use both on and off campus via the "Sign in" link. Avalon will be unavailable from 11/12/24-11/15/24 for maintenance.
Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Digital Concert Hall of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra transmits the concerts of the Berlin philharmonic orchestra to the internet for registered users to access on demand. Users must register as an Institutional User at the site for access.
Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video access to documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. Includes access to the African American Classics collection from California Newsreel.
BroadwayHD Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video for 19 premium performances of plays and musicals from the New York theater scene.
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains training videos, reenactments, and footage of therapy sessions from 1985-2010 conducted by renowned counselors, psychiatrists, psychologists, and social workers.
Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Video selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Also included documentaries by and about choreographers; videos on dance training; and other items covering 20th century dance styles. UCLA has access to Volumes I and II of this database.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DT+ includes streaming video of plays, dance, and performances produced on the contemporary British and American stage, interviews with professional practitioners and masterclasses on technique, study guides on classic works, and pedagogical guides for the classroom and theater production.
Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes digitized resources on disability history and disability studies, including history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other subject areas. Includes primary sources, videos (documentaries, interviews, art films, performances), archival materials, advertising, and secondary monographs.
Drama Online — Bloomsbury This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of plays and reference works, as well as streaming audio and video of performances. UCLA subscribes to the modules: Core Collection, Asian Theatre Video, Aurora Metro Books, BBC Drama Films, British, American, and Australian Video Collection, Classic Spring Oscar Wilde Collection, Critical Studies and Performance Practice, Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy, European Theatre Video Collection, L.A. Theatre Works, Maxine Peake as Hamlet, National Theatre Collections, Nick Hern Books Modern Plays, Oberon Books, Playwrights Canada Press, RSC Live Collections, Shakespeare in the Present, Shakespeare Video Collection, Shakespeare's Globe on Screen, Shakespeare's Globe to Globe Festival on Screen 1, Shakespeare's Globe to Globe Festival on Screen 2, Shakespeare's Heroes and Villains, Shakespeare in the Present, Stage on Screen, Stratford Festival Shakespeare Collection, TCG Plays, Theatre Performance and Practice Video Library.
Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI) Educational Streaming Site This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EAI's Educational Streaming Site is a subscription-access layer of the EAI Online Catalogue. Full-length streaming videos are available for selected artists, with an emphasis on video and media art, performance art, and experimental film. Artists and titles are added on an ongoing basis. The campus subscription to Electronic Arts Intermix was initially funded for the campus by the generous support of the UCLA Art Department.
Ethnographic Video Online: Foundational Films This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Volumes I and II of Ethnographic Video Online. Contains streaming video of documentary footage focused on the study of human culture and behavior. Includes ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, interviews, field notes, and study guides. See also volume III, Indigenous Voices; and, volume IV, Festivals and Archives.
Ethnographic Video Online: Indigenous Voices This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Volume III of Ethnographic Video Online. Streaming video of documentaries, feature films and shorts made by and for indigenous people and communities. Topics include the human effects of climate change, sustainability, indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling. See also volumes I and II, Foundational Films; and, volume IV, Festivals and Archives.
Ethnographic Video Online: Festivals and Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Volume IV of Ethnographic Video Online, featuring streaming video with a focus on curating award-winning titles from contemporary ethnographic film festivals. Additionally, this database contains the full catalog of anthropology films from Berkeley Media, formerly known as the University of California’s Extension Center for Media. See also volumes 1 and 2, Foundational Films; and, volume 3, Indigenous Voices.
Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online video collection featuring hundreds of documentaries covering a range of topics. Subjects include race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. UCLA subscribes to volumes I and II.
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides interdisciplinary archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us. Includes cookbooks, menus, documentaries, vintage commercials, diet trends, and more.
Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. Includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types. Topics include Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more.

Journal of Medical Insight (JOMI)
- This link opens in a new window
Clinical video journal that provides comprehensive video production and editorial services to assist surgeons, physicians, and dentists.

JoVE Science Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Video database dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand video demonstrations.
LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection that includes documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, AIDS, transgender issues, and other topics.
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a high definition video library of performances, concerts, recitals, and documentaries in classical music, opera, dance, and jazz.
Met Opera on Demand: Student Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online streaming access to more than 650 full-length Metropolitan Opera performances.
Mindscape Commons This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mindscape Commons is the world’s first online resource for immersive and interactive content in mental health. It presents and documents nearly 200 VR experiences, as well as some serious games and apps, for teaching and research in counseling, social work, psychology, health sciences, and related programs.
Music & Performing Arts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches audio, video, scores, and full-text reference content from all Alexander Street Press music, dance, film, and theater databases.
Music Online: The Qwest TV Collection, Volume I This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers live music performances, covering the evolution of jazz and beyond - representing funk, soul, hip-hop, folk, indie, electronic, blues, and other world genres.
New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming access to 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors, plus 50 award-winning short films.
Nursing Education in Video: Second Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.
OnArchitecture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OnArchitecture is an online library of architecture-related videos. OnArchitecture features streaming interviews with contemporary architects from around the world. The site also features video tours of important contemporary projects by many of the interview subjects.
OntheBoards.tv This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video resource that includes high-quality, full-length performances by some of today's most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music, and other forms.
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of streaming video for teaching and training in psychotherapy practice and for education about psychology. Videos are searchable by therapeutic approaches, therapeutic issues, expert therapists, population, and titles.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books, reference works, and instructional videos about qualitative and quantitative methodologies in the sciences and social sciences. Includes Research Tools (online tools for planning research and choosing methods), Cases (examples of real research), Video (research process, data science, and methods) and Datasets (sample data chosen specifically to support practice with various statistical analysis methods). Includes Diversifying and Decolonizing Research, and Sage Research Methods Video: Quantitative and Mixed Methods.
Silent Film Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming media archive of silent era features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba. Browse sub-collections for more on subjects covered.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected streaming video titles from Swank Digital Campus, licensed for use by individual researchers and class screenings/reserves by instructor request.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains streaming video performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions. UCLA subscribes to volumes 1 and 2.
Victorians on Film: Entertainment, Innovation & Everyday Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the British Film Institute’s Victorian Film Collection and the Mitchell and Kenyon Collection, as well as a selection of special early large format films. This material provides a glimpse into the lives of the late Victorians and Edwardians captured between 1895 and 1913 by some of Britain’s earliest film pioneers and innovators.

Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN and Proxy Tutorials

The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!

If you still need help, you can contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.

Virtual Private Networking (VPN)
A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer. It stays connected until you log off.
UCLA Online Proxy Server
A simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.

VPN on Mac with Natalie

"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science

Download a UCLA VPN

VPN on Windows with Michael

"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs

Download a UCLA VPN