Additional Research Guides
Librarian
Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Connect with a subject specialist
Research Methodology Handbooks, Encyclopedias, and Guides
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Books, reference works, and instructional videos about qualitative and quantitative methodologies in the sciences and social sciences. Includes Research Tools (online tools for planning research and choosing methods), Cases (examples of real research), Video (research process, data science, and methods) and Datasets (sample data chosen specifically to support practice with various statistical analysis methods). Includes Diversifying and Decolonizing Research, and Sage Research Methods Video: Quantitative and Mixed Methods. - Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Handbooks covering a wide range of humanities, social sciences, psychology and some science topics, published by Routledge, Ashgate and other imprints. Some CRC Press handbooks can also be accessed via this particular site. - Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks, now a part of Oxford Academic, provide review articles which summarize and analyze current research and trends in a given discipline. UCLA subscribes to most Oxford Handbooks Online, excluding a few individual titles. - Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Companions to Literature and Classics, Companions to Music, and Companions to Philosophy, Religion, and Culture. - Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic, and social history, philosophy, and literature of selected countries and subjects. Continually updated with new volumes taken from the print series as soon as they become available.
- Encyclopedia Britannica (Free Online Version)Free online version of the general encyclopedia. Full print edition available in YRL.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly encyclopedia covering disciplines of the social and behavioral sciences: Anthropology, Economics, Geography, Political Science, Psychology, Social Welfare, Sociology, and related fields and concepts. - International Handbooks of Museum Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Includes four volumes: Museum Theory, Museum Practice, Museum Media, and Museum Transformations.
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography. - Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society, and numerous international art galleries and artists. - Oxford Bibliographies Online: Anthropology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies for topics in the field of Anthropology. Combines encyclopedia-style introductions with expert recommendations of the most important reference works, books, journals, and primary sources on the topic. - Oxford Bibliographies Online: African Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies for topics in the field of African Studies. Combines encyclopedia-style introductions with expert recommendations of the most important reference works, books, journals, and primary sources on the topic. - Oxford Bibliographies Online: Art History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies by topic to important and recent scholarship in art and architectural history. - Oxford Bibliographies Online: Cinema and Media Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies for topics in the field of Cinema and Media Studies. Combines encyclopedia-style introductions with expert recommendations of the most important reference works, books, journals, and primary sources on the topic. - Research Methods — Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed as a tool to support students of the humanities and social sciences, Research Methods Primary Sources introduces the key approaches to working with source materials and historical evidence. - Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic encyclopedia of philosophy.
Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN and Proxy Tutorials
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!
If you still need help, you can contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.
- Virtual Private Networking (VPN)A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer. It stays connected until you log off.
- UCLA Online Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
VPN on Chromebook with Nadia
"I chose VPN because it is really simple to use!" - Nadia, Public Affairs
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies