Oral History Portals
- Oral History Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 2,700 collections of oral history in English from around the world. Provides keyword searching of full-text transcripts when available, plus links to audio and video files. - UCLA Center for Oral History Research (COHR) This link opens in a new windowCOHR conducts in-depth, multi-session oral history interviews with individuals who have been a part of the history of Los Angeles and its many communities. Over 2000 interviews document a wide range of areas related to Southern California history, including the histories of Black, indigenous, people of color and immigrant communities, the arts, political activism, politics and government, and UCLA history. Transcripts available in Library Special Collections (YRL).
- Historical VoicesA searchable online database of spoken word collections spanning the 20th century - the first large-scale repository of its kind.
- Calisphere This link opens in a new windowOver one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more from the collections digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.
- Occupational Folklife Project (Library of Congress)"The Occupational Folklife Project (OFP) began in 2010 as a multi-year documentation project by the American Folklife Center (AFC) that seeks to document the culture of contemporary American workers during an era of economic and social transition."
Tools for Conducting Oral History Interviews
- Interviewing Guidelines (UCLA)A good overview from the UCLA Library Center for Oral History Research.
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books, reference works, and instructional videos about qualitative and quantitative methodologies in the sciences and social sciences. Includes Research Tools (online tools for planning research and choosing methods), Cases (examples of real research), Video (research process, data science, and methods) and Datasets (sample data chosen specifically to support practice with various statistical analysis methods).
Oral Histories on Women and Gender
- Discovering American Women's History Online: Oral History ProjectsDiverse list of oral history projects related to U.S. women's history.
- Women's Activist Lives (UCLA)Addresses the diverse ways in which women’s social movement activities affected public policy and transformed civic institutions such as education, social services, and the art world in Los Angeles.
- Transgender Oral History ProjectA community-driven effort to collect and share a diverse range of stories from within the transgender and gender variant communities.