Maps and Cartographic Resources

View zip code maps for the state of California or any other US state

A digital platform transmogrified into a book, HyperCities explains the ambitious online project of the same name that maps the historical layers of city spaces in an interactive, hypermedia environment.

Worldwide country profiles - detailed country statistics, charts, and maps compiled from multiple sources.

A map displaying the 981 properties that make up the World Heritage list

Compare thematic city datasets using this interactive and colorful GIS tool

NOAA geostationary satellites constantly monitor the Western Hemisphere from around 22,240 miles above the Earth.

NOAA Ocean Exploration ensures public access to the diverse scientific data and information collected during ocean expeditions that we support, including those on NOAA Ship Okeanos Explorer. Digital data collections typically include oceanographic and geophysical parameters, video, images, documents, and other information, provided in a range of data formats and held in NOAA archives. Physical samples are archived with established repositories.

Search and download aerial photography, satellite data, elevation data, land-cover products, and digitized maps.

The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), in partnership with other organizations, is generating the datasets needed to better manage, conserve, and restore these vital natural resources that are increasingly threatened by fragmentation, alteration, loss, invasive species, fire, climate change, and incompatible resource extraction.

The National Map supports data download, digital and print versions of topographic maps, geospatial data services, and online viewing using nationally consistent geospatial data.

The American Geographical Society Library Digital Map Collection contains over 19,000 maps, ranging from early maps of Asia to historical maps of Wisconsin and Milwaukee, and other American cities, states, and national parks. The digital collection is under continuing development.

The RGO Archives, held in Cambridge University Library, consist of all the surviving historical paper records of the Royal Observatory from 1675 until circa 1980, though many later records are held and the collection accrues as material is deposited.

View the over 57,000 maps available online from the Library of Congress.

Online map collections covering the world, countries, cities, etc. from the University of Texas, Austin.

Maps are official documents or prepared as an integral part of documents of the United Nations or related official publication. As such the Organization aims to provide cartographic materials free of charge to Member States, the international community, scholars and the public at large.

OzCoasts provides comprehensive information about Australia's coast, including its estuaries, coastal waterways and climate change impact.

Vector files of chart features and available in S-57 format. NOAA ENCs support marine navigation by providing the official Electronic Navigational Chart used in ECDIS and in electronic charting systems. NOAA ENCs are updated weekly with Notice to Mariner corrections.

Just as NOAA electronic navigational chart (NOAA ENC®) cells do, all raster charts portray water depths,coastlines, dangers, aids to navigation, landmarks, bottom characteristics and other features, as well as regulatory, tide, and other information. All raster chart products are based on and have the same appearance as the "traditional" paper charts that Coast Survey has provided for U.S. waters since the early 19th century.