Toward Ethical and Inclusive Descriptive Practices in UCLA Library Special Collections
LSC is committed to remediating harmful description by creating and implementing an anti-oppressive approach to discovery and access. We aim to:
- Be clear about what we know, how we know it, and what we don't know
- Embrace baseline description as a tool to improve the discoverability of all our materials
- Demonstrate an understanding that description is a continuous and necessarily iterative endeavor
Read more about our past and current approaches to description in Toward Ethical and Inclusive Descriptive Practices in UCLA Library Special Collections.
Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive
The Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive contains an estimated 4 million images dating from approximately 1918 to 1990. The collection consists of photonegatives as well as photographic prints, and includes glass negatives (circa 1918-1932), nitrate negatives (circa 1925-45), and safety negatives (circa 1935-1990). Also included are a small number of prints and negatives from the Los Angeles Times Orange County and San Diego bureaus.
The scope of the collection is near-comprehensive as a document of events, personalities, movements, and institutions in the news. Unique among its content is the amount of photographic evidence concerning the Los Angeles region during this time. The range of documentary material reflecting L.A. politics, the built environment, arts and culture, race relations, industry, growth and development is perhaps unrivaled. The photographic records resulting from the Times’ diligent and constant coverage of the Hollywood entertainment industry are a particularly important cache.
Resources and Search Strategies
- Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive (21963 online items)Online portal to digitized images from the Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive.
- Finding aid for the Los Angeles Times Photographic Archives, ca. 1918-1990 (Collection 1429)The Los Angeles Times was founded in 1881 and was incorporated as the Times-Mirror Company in 1884. The collection consists of photonegatives as well as photographic prints documenting events and people in Southern California, the U. S., and the world. The material originates from the Los Angeles Times newspaper and includes glass negatives (circa 1918-1932), nitrate negatives (circa 1925-45), and safety negatives (circa 1935-1990). Also includes prints and negatives from the Los Angeles Times Orange County and San Diego bureaus.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 2015. For access to current issues, see Los Angeles Times [1985-present].
Los Angeles Times Gallery
Griffith Park
Cars on the road through Griffith Park with laborers in the background widening the road, Los Angeles, 1933-04
Arthur Ashe
UCLA tennis player Arthur Ashe firing a backhand volley at Dennis Ralston in Southern California Intercollegiates, 1964-03-16
Filipino Family
Filipino family roasting pig over hot coals during the Lotus Festival at Echo Park in Los Angeles, Calif., 1976
Smog
Jo Jeanne Angeloff rubbing eyes from effects of smog atop the Occidental Center building in Los Angeles, Calif., 1965-04-20
Nisei Festival
Nisei Festival Week Queen contestants, Los Angeles, 1966-08-11
Cyclone Racer
Cyclone Racer roller coaster seen from location of destroyed Pine Avenue Pier, Long Beach, 1934
Rose Parade
"Peacock" float in the Tournament of Roses Parade, Pasadena, 1933-01-02
Freeway Interchange
Bill Lloyd looking over Long Beach and San Bernardino Freeways interchange on opening day, 1965-02-15
Fatty and the Broadway Stars
Two scenes from the filming of "Fatty and the Broadway Stars," Los Angeles, 1915
Brown Berets
Four Brown Berets leaders, Fred Lopez, David Sanchez , Carlos Montes and Ralph Ramirez in Los Angeles, Calif., 1968-03-07
Goodyear-Zeppelin Airship
Goodyear-Zeppelin airship approaching the USS Patoka in the Port of Los Angeles, San Pedro, 1932
Chinese Lion
Dancing Chinese lion during festival in Chinatown, Los Angeles, circa 1920-1939
UCLA
Paraplegic students sign up for classes at UCLA, 1949-09-19
Blessing of the Animals
Blessing of the animals on Olvera Street, Los Angeles (Calif.), 1948-03-28
Surfing
California Coast Girls Surf Club, 1963-05-19
Watts Riots
Burned residence from Watts Riots, Los Angeles (Calif.), 1965-10-15
Dodger Stadium
Primary grading for Dodger Stadium in Chavez Ravine, Los Angeles (Calif.), 1960-04-16
Seder
Bennett family gathered around Seder table upon which sits symbolic Jewish foods in Beverly Hills, Calif., 1965-04-08
Film Strike
Police drag MGM protesters to police wagon, 1946-10-01
Atomic Bomb
Atomic blast preparedness : actors reacting to nuclear blast, 1950-08-29
Homeless
Homeless Floyd Heagle and Dorothy Johnson, with children living in car in Los Angeles, Calif., 1946-08-06
Iron Eyes Cody
Iron Eyes Cody filming dedication of Indian Garden with a Quasar VHS camcorder in Los Angeles, Calif., 1986-04-18
War Rationing
Long line of people waiting to obtain meat during first day of war rationing in Los Angeles. 1943-03-28
Related Material
- Los Angeles Daily News Negatives, 1925-1954 (Collection 1387)The Los Angeles Daily News collection consists of 200,000 negatives of the Los Angeles Daily News. This collection is searchable through paper indexes housed at the reference desk on the A level of the Charles E. Young Research Library. A large selection of images from the collection is available online.
- Los Angeles Daily News Photographs, 1923-1954 (Collection 1386)The collection consists of 20,000 contact prints (a 10% sample) from the Los Angeles daily news morgue negatives in collection 1387.
- Los Angeles Daily News Negatives (UCLA Library Digital Collections)Approximately 5,000 digitized images from the Los Angeles Daily News Negatives collection.
- LAPL Los Angeles Herald Examiner Photograph CollectionNewspaper morgue of 2.2 million photographs that document Southern California, the nation and the world from the 1920s to 1989. As one of the major newspapers on the west coast, it was highly regarded for its coverage of the entertainment industry, politics, sports and public issues.
- USC Los Angeles Examiner Collection, 1920-1961The Los Angeles Examiner Collection consists of approximately 1.4 million prints and negatives from the Los Angeles Examiner newspaper.
- UCLA Department of Geography Air Photo ArchivesOblique low altitude black and white aerial photographs taken between the years 1918-1971 with extensive coverage of Los Angeles, Ventura, and Orange Counties.