Librarian
Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Check out our FAQ
Connect with a subject specialist
Guide Information
This guide was originally designed for a Winter 2016 course: Film and Television 98TA: Indigenous Media and Production Contexts in North America (instructor: Karrmen Crey). It has since been updated as a subject guide on the study of Indigenous Media.
Additional Library Research Guides and Resources
- UCLA American Indian Studies Center The UCLA American Indian Studies Center (AISC) was founded in 1969 as a research institute dedicated to addressing American Indian issues and supporting Native communities. The AISC serves as a hub of activities for Indigenous students, staff, faculty, alumni, and community, as well as serving as a bridge between the academy and indigenous peoples locally, nationally, and internationally.
Library Catalogs: Search for Books and More
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowUC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- Online Archive of California (OAC) This link opens in a new windowFinding aids for primary source collections in all UC campuses and other contributing institutions, including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California.
Reference Tools and Contextual Information
- American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A full-text digital collection exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States. Contains more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images from pre-contact to the present day.
- American Indian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. The 45 unique titles also include bilingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages. - Indigenous Peoples of North America (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches collections from the U.S. and Canada, including manuscripts, book collections, newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations, materials such as Bibles, dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages. Covers 17th-20th centuries. - American Indian Histories and Cultures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Manuscripts, newspapers, diaries, maps, artwork, photographs, and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers up to the mid-20th century. Cross-searchable with The American West database.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society, and numerous international art galleries and artists.
- Projecting Ethnicity and Race: An Annotated Bibliography of Studies on Imagery in American FilmBibliography of major books with content on ethnicity and race in film. Use the index in the back to look up film titles, names, or subjects, then locate the related books in the Library Catalog.
- Multicultural Films: A Reference Guide
- This link opens in a new window
E-book version. A filmography and description of films arranged by ethnicity.