Search Google Scholar for Articles
Unlike the subject specific databases, Google Scholar searches across a wide range of sources. It can be useful, but does not contain everything. Evaluate articles you locate there the same way you would any other sources.
Core Film and Television Studies Databases
These more specialized tools index journals core to the study of film and television, including more international and professional practice-focused journals and magazines.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text. - FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives. - Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EIMA is an historical archive of major trade and consumer magazines in film, television, music, radio, and theater, from their inception to 2000. Includes weekly Variety, Hollywood Reporter, American Cinematographer, Back Stage, Billboard, Broadcasting, Picturegoer, Screen International, Spin, and more. UCLA has access to parts I, II and III of this database.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals. - Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present.
Communication Studies Databases
Although more focused on the social sciences than on aesthetics or history, Communications journals often contain scholarship on media, including television, gaming, social media, and more.
- ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field (includes television and new media).
- Communication Studies: Sage Full-Text Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Small full-text collection of communication studies journals, covering journalism, television, new media, and other topics.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present.
Indigenous Studies Databases & Journals
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, essays, journal articles, US and Canadian government documents, and other publications concerning the history, life, and culture of native North Americans from the 16th century to the present. Contains the citations from the eight volumes of the Ethnographic Bibliography of North America as well as additional new citations. - Indigenous Peoples of North America (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches collections from the U.S. and Canada, including manuscripts, book collections, newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations, materials such as Bibles, dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages. Covers 17th-20th centuries. UCLA provides access to Indigenous Peoples of North America, Part I and Indigenous Peoples of North America, Part II: The Indian Rights Association, 1882-1986. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964.
- The American Indian Registry for the Performing ArtsNewsletter [Los Angeles, CA] : The Registry, [1984-
Entertainment Business and Law
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive business articles database covering more than 8,500 scholarly, professional, and trade periodicals in all areas of business. Coverages dates back to 1886. Content also includes books, case studies, Datamonitor company and industry profiles, conference proceedings, country reports (from CountryWatch, EIU, Icon International, and others), market research reports, SWOT analyses, profiles of the most-cited authors, and more. Sole electronic resource for full text of the Harvard Business Review and California Management Review. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text international newspapers and some industry magazines, including selected content of Hollywood Reporter. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 2500 legal journals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases are good starting places for contemporary and some historical writing in periodicals. They tend to be wide in scope, but not necessarily deep in coverage, particularly for articles in foreign languages.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search platform for over 120 databases, from the AFI Catalog to Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Includes scholarly articles, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, as well as newspapers and dissertations.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. The index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Link searches both Alternative Press Index (1991-present) and Alternative Press Index Archive (1969-1990). - Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America - MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,750 general reference publications dating as far back as 1975. Also includes biographies, full text primary source documents, and an image collection.
- Google Books Advanced SearchPre-limit to magazines to search scanned popular press titles, including advertisements.
Historic Entertainment Magazines Online
Major digitization projects that include historic entertainment magazines previously unavailable online.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EIMA is an historical archive of major trade and consumer magazines in film, television, music, radio, and theater, from their inception to 2000. Includes weekly Variety, Hollywood Reporter, American Cinematographer, Back Stage, Billboard, Broadcasting, Picturegoer, Screen International, Spin, and more. UCLA has access to parts I, II and III of this database.
- Media History Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFreely available online portal, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
- Motion Picture Periodicals: Margaret Herrick LibraryDigitized issues of early cinema periodicals held at the Margaret Herrick Library, including Cinema Chat and Movie Monthly.
- Online Silent Film Periodicals (Bioscope)List of international silent film periodicals that are available online via different European projects.
- Gallica (Bibliotheque nationale de France)More than one million digitized documents (books, periodicals, manuscripts, maps, images, scores, sound recordings, etc.) at the French National Library.
- Radio's Online History ResourceFull text scans of historical broadcasting magazines in the fields of radio and television. Includes Broadcasting Magazine, Broadcasting Yearbook, Radio Annual, and more.