More Papers
TIP: Not all newspapers are easily available online, especially from smaller communities and for certain years. To research more deeply, you may need to identify papers published in a region, and study microfilm copies.
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new windowDigitized collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. The 45 unique titles also include bilingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages. Previously titled American Indian Newspapers.
- American Indian and Alaska Native Newspapers and PeriodicalsPrint volumes that list Native periodicals from 1826-1985.
Online Current Newspapers
UCLA subscribes to a number of databases with current newspaper content from the last few years. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowIncludes a range of recent full text international newspapers and industry/company news in magazines like Hollywood Reporter.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from over 4,756 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspapers. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank.
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2020]
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2000].
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2012].
Online Historical Newspapers
UCLA subscribes to a number of databases with both current and historical newspaper content. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new windowDigitized collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. The 45 unique titles also include bilingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages. Previously titled American Indian Newspapers.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1851 to 2020. For access to current issues, see The New York Times [1980-present]. Contains the former Historical Index to the New York Times (1851-1923) from the database Historical Newspapers Online.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 2015. For access to current issues, see Los Angeles Times [1985-present].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text, covering 1849-2014 of the paper. For access to current issues, see Chicago Tribune [1985-present].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the Wall Street Journal. This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text, from 1889 to 2012. For access to current issues, see Wall Street Journal [1984-present].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender This link opens in a new windowFull text historical content from influential black Chicago newspapers.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1877 to 2007. For access to current issues, see Washington Post [1987-present].