General Social Sciences
- US Census Data ToolsList of interactive applications to get statistics from multiple surveys. Outlined by the US Census Bureau.
- The World Bank - World Development IndicatorsThe primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
- Los Angeles Open DataPrimary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
- California Open DataStatewide open data portal created to improve collaboration, expand transparency and lead to innovation and increased effectiveness.
Anthropology & Archaeology
- Cultural AnthropologyCultural Anthropology publishes ethnographic writing informed by a wide array of theoretical perspectives, innovative in form and content, and focused on both traditional and emerging topics. All articles published since 2014 are freely available on the Cultural Anthropology website.
- Journal of Archaeological ScienceThe Journal of Archaeological Science is aimed at archaeologists and scientists with particular interests in advancing the development and application of scientific techniques and methodologies to all areas of archaeology. Many articles are published within the JAS are freely available and indexed here.
Food Studies
- Journal of Ethnic Foods
The Journal of Ethnic Foods provides comprehensive coverage about people’s consumption of food and aims to illuminate the benefits of traditional understanding and knowledge of foods developed over a long time.The journal emphasises research that explores food, gastronomy and eating behaviours that are related to particular geographical contexts and ethnicities. The uniqueness, variety and creativity of food traditions and cultures, as well as the complex interplay of societal and environmental factors can be fully understood by considering perspectives on ethnography, cultural anthropology, population health and well-being, biology, history, ecology and geography. - Locale: The Pacific Journal of Regional Food StudiesLocale: The Pacific Journal of Regional Food Studies is an open-access online journal. It combines peer-reviewed academic articles with industry forums, debates and photo essays. Locale’s emphasis is on the Pacific (i.e. Australia, New Zealand, the islands of the Pacific, and the Pacific Rim) and on issues or processes at the local or regional level.
- International Journal of Food StudiesThe International Journal of Food Studies (IJFS), a journal of the ISEKI_Food Association, is an international peer-reviewed open-access journal featuring scientific articles on the world of Food in Education, Research and Industry. This journal is a forum created specifically to improve the international dissemination of Food Science and Technology knowledge between Education, Research and Industry stakeholders.
- Digest: A Journal of Foodways and CultureDigest: A Journal of Foodways and Culture, online since 2012, was founded in 1977 by the Foodways Section of the American Folklore Society. It welcomes the exchange of ideas and resources among food writers, scholars, and students in diverse disciplinary areas of interest and practice, including teaching, museum curation, archiving, and professional culinary arts. The journal aims to promote, stimulate, and encourage study of the cultural and social dimensions of food production, preparation, consumption, and other aspects of food use, and often emphasizes food’s role in individual and group expression.
- Graduate Association for Food StudiesThe Graduate Association for Food Studies (GAFS) is the official graduate student caucus of the Association for the Study of Food and Society (ASFS). GAFS is an interdisciplinary academic community with the goals of connecting graduate students interested in food and promoting their exceptional work. The Association publishes the digital Graduate Journal of Food Studies and hosts the Future of Food Studies conference.
- Food Studies Journals - DOAJBrowse OA Food Studies journals
Management, Business, & Labor Studies
- Edgar Company FilingsEDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, is the primary system for companies and others submitting documents under the Securities Act of 1933, the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Trust Indenture Act of 1939, and the Investment Company Act of 1940.
- US SBA - Small Business AdministrationIndependent agency of the United States government that provides support to entrepreneurs and small businesses.
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics on EmploymentProvides national totals of the number of employed people and also provide statistics on subjects such as occupational employment and wages, labor demand and turnover, and the dynamic state of the labor market.
- The World Bank - Doing Business ArchiveProvides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 190 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level.
Political Science & Economics
- Political Science Journals - DOAJBrowse freely available political science journal articles
- Policy & SocietyOpen access research into economic and political policy theory and practice at local, national and international level.
- Oxford Open EconomicsOxford Open Economics is a fully open access journal publishing research covering all areas of economics, including theoretical, empirical, applied and policy-oriented work, and extending from macroeconomics through microeconomics and all relevant fields.
- US Bureau of Economic AnalysisPromotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner.
Psychology
- The Open Psychology JournalThe OPJ publishes research articles, reviews/mini-reviews, case reports, perspectives, letters and guest edited single topic issues in all areas of psychology. The journal’s coverage is comprehensive and includes applied psychology; biological psychology; clinical psychology; developmental psychology; experimental psychology (and cognitive neuroscience); educational psychology; mathematical psychology; social psychology; and psychoanalysis.
- Psychology InternationalPsychology International is an international, peer-reviewed, open-access journal dedicated to publishing original articles, reviews, and short communications in the field of psychology. It serves as a platform for the dissemination of high-quality research across various subfields, including cognitive psychology, developmental psychology, health psychology, social psychology, organizational psychology, and sports psychology.
Public Affairs
- OER Commons: Public PolicyOpen access Public Policy texts.
- City of Los Angeles Open Data PortalSearch or scroll down and browse by city financial data, COVID-19, public safety, infrastructure and service requests, housing and real estate, parks and recreation, sanitation, and/or transportation.
- LA County GIS Data PortalProvides GIS data layers for free download through the LA County Enterprise GIS Hub.
- Pew Research CenterNonpartisan group that conducts polling and demographic research to explore the issues and trends shaping the nation, as well as global opinion.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Services Virtual LibraryBibliographic information and abstracts of more than 230,000 collection resources, including over 80,000 online materials and all known Office of Justice Programs' works.
- UNData United NationsWeb-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies.
- International Review of Public PolicyDouble-blind peer reviewed open access journal and the flagship journal of the most important world-wide association for public policy in the social sciences, the International Public Policy Association (IPPA).
Sociology
- Frontiers in SociologyA multidisciplinary journal which focuses on contemporary social problems with a historical purview to understand the functioning and development of societies.
- Sociology Journals - DOAJBrowse freely available sociology journal articles