Freely Available and Open Access Resources

OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) is a collaborative initiative to develop and implement a sustainable Open Access publication model for academic books in the Humanities and Social Sciences. The OAPEN Library aims to improve the visibility and usability of high quality academic research by aggregating peer reviewed Open Access publications from across Europe.

Useful for finding tools, data collections, and datasets. Curated by Alan Liu.

The mission of the DHQ includes experimenting with publication formats and the rhetoric of digital authoring, collaborating with ADHO's flagship print journal, Digital Scholarship in the Humanities, in order to bridge the print-divide, using open standards in delivering journal content, facilitating international participation while developing translation services allowing multilingual review.

A grassroots response to the crisis in scholarly publishing in the humanities, Open Humanities Press is an international open access publishing collective whose mission is to make leading works of contemporary critical thought freely available worldwide.

Over one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more from the collections digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.

One of the first five peer reviewed electronically distributed scholarly journals in world history and the first ever in the social sciences. EJC/REC is devoted to the study of communication theory, research, practice, and policy.

Index of Communications related Open Access journals.

Online library of international research and information on children's television, youth television, educational television. The online library offers coverage of journal articles, conferences, theses, dissertations, reports, books and links to full-text materials to the greatest extent possible.

Digital project from the Library of Congress including online access to newspapers published from between 1690-present. Search newspaper pages digitized through the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

A public website that links to newspapers and other news sources from around the world, organized by country.

InterActions publication’s authors foster an open and critical dialogue with readers and colleagues through applying diverse social justice frameworks to the discussion of pressing issues in the fields of education and information.

Online dictionary of terminology for library and information science professionals, students, and faculty.

Browse thousands of articles related to African American Studies, Indigenous Studies, Ethnic Studies, Latina/o Studies, Chicana/o Studies, Asian American Studies, Native American Studies, Puerto Rican Studies, and Other Race, Ethnicity, and Post-Colonial Studies

International open access online hub focused on accessibility of transgender history. DTA is a collaboration among more than twenty institutions, including digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.

Full text of more than 1000 open access alternative publications from the 1960s-1980s covering feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, LGBTQ+ activists, and more.

Created and produced by John Scagliotti, In the Life first premiered in 1992 on the New York public television station WNYC-TV, a PBS affiliate, and thrived for 20 years as a trailblazer in LGBTQ representation and equal rights advocacy. Available to watch online courtesy of the UCLA Film & Television Archive.

Brings together hundreds of primary source digital collections covering U.S. women’s history.

Includes digitized books, manuscripts, and images from Harvard University Libraries and Museums on women in the U.S. economy from 1870-1930.

A UCLA think tank dedicated to conducting independent research on sexual orientation and gender identity law, including demographics.

Produced by the City of West Hollywood, Get Used to It (1992-2012) addressed national and local issues impacting the LGBTQ+ community. Thanks to a collaboration with the City of West Hollywood, the UCLA Film & Television Archive holds all 177 episodes and has made them available for free viewing online.

Metasite with links to many different resources and directories, including a specific section on Queer Studies.

Digital records and finding aids for June L. Mazer Archives housed at the UCLA Library.

Includes digitized books, paintings, photographs, recordings and films from over 2,200 contributing cultural heritage organizations across Europe.

Online, freely available sources for European history.

Open access resources organized by the European Commission Library.

Free-access database and information service, which aims to support research and understanding on any matter relating to Europe. It offers curated information and a wide range of sources, enabling information provision to users holding different levels of expertise.

Compiled list of open access and freely available resources relating to East Asian Studies, including books, serials, maps, documentary films, and more.

AODL provides free universal access to cultural heritage materials from and about African countries and communities. It brings together tens of thousands of digitized photographs, videos, archival documents, maps, interviews and oral histories in numerous African languages, many of which are contained in curated thematic galleries and teaching resources.

AfricaBib is a collection of Africana social science titles, presented in one easily accessible location on the internet. It is the culmination of over forty years of Africana research.

Directory of journals published in Central America.

The Journal of Arabic and Islamic Studies (JAIS) is an international, peer-reviewed, open access, academic journal. It is also the world's most widely read journal in the field of Arabic, Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies.

Researchers will find a wealth of unique content from the Middle East and North Africa, much of which has never been digitized or available as open access material. Content in the Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers collection is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French.

This guide identifies and describes freely available online legal research sources. It covers primary law (including federal and California case law, statutes, and regulations), secondary sources, legal forms, research guides and other reference tools, news sources, and self-help resources.

Open access textbooks related to World History.

Open access, college-level World History resources.

Open access History textbooks.

Published and made freely available online by UCLA's Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies.

Digitized primary sources from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History in New York. We currently have access to Module I - Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859.

A good resource for primary texts from early Canadian history.

This site provides access to 14 collections containing diaries, account books, letter books, ships’ logs, indentures, bills of sale, personal papers, and records of institutions, all relating to American slavery and the Atlantic slave trade.

Collaborative digital initiative that compiles and makes publicly accessible records of the largest slave trades in history. Search these records to learn about the broad origins and forced relocations of more than 12 million African people who were sent across the Atlantic in slave ships, and hundreds of thousands more who were trafficked within the Americas. Explore where they were taken, the numerous rebellions that occurred, the horrific loss of life during the voyages, the identities and nationalities of the perpetrators, and much more.

The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913. Search texts from 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.

Contains personal accounts by the Medical Officers and statistical data in the form of graphs, tables and charts. Covering a wide range of topics from birth rates to causes of death, the reports offer a rich source of material for public health research. They also cover varying aspects of London life: housing, food hygiene, health services, local trades and industries.

The UCLA Center for Oral History Research (COHR) conducts in-depth, multi-session oral history interviews with individuals who have been a part of the history of Los Angeles and its many communities. COHR has particularly strong collections in the history of social movements, communities of color, the arts, Los Angeles politics and government, and the history of UCLA.

Not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries now preserving 18+ million digitized items in the HathiTrust Digital Library. We offer reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. and international copyright law, text and data mining tools for the entire corpus, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.

Gateway for searching OCLC WorldCat manuscripts.

Excellent resource from the British Library, containing over 1,200 works along with critical essays, teaching resources and more.

Indexes links to freely-available digital facsimiles of eighteenth-century texts available at sites like Google Books and the Internet Archive and connects those links to more complete bibliographic descriptions than are commonly available at those sites.

Over 2000 recordings of poets, both audio and video. Searchable by poet, poem title, related audio and related video (and more).

Online collection featuring works of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. VWWP contains scores of authors, both prolific and rare.

Browse freely available philosophy books.

An online clearinghouse for philosophical research, containing searchable index of scholarship as well as resources for the scholarly philosophical community.

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.

The Internet Archive is a nonprofit organization dedicated to building and maintaining a free and openly accessible online digital library. Princeton Theological Seminary shares in the vision and mission of the Internet Archive. Browse by subject.

Think tank that connects academics, activists and policy-makers to promote efforts to dismantle structural inequality.

Leading research program that informs the most pressing debates on abortion and reproductive health.

Conducts independent research on sexual orientation and gender identity law and public policy.

An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Free, online resource for those working to build healthier communities and bring about social change.

Offers tools, research, tips, curricula, and ideas for people who want to increase their understanding and to help those working for racial justice at every level – in systems, organizations, communities, and the culture at large.

From the U. of Texas, this site makes available archived web resources related to human rights organizations and issues.