Freely Available and Open Access Resources

Search U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976

Climate Data Online (CDO) provides free access to NCDC's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals.

PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

The Pubs Warehouse provides access to over 170,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.

[ESSOA] is a community server established to accelerate the open discovery and dissemination of earth, environmental, and space science research by archiving and sharing early research outputs, including preprints, presentations from major scientific meetings, and important documents of scholarly societies.

U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information

The Earthquake Engineering Online Archive is a database of significant, publicly-funded research and development literature, photographs, data, and software in earthquake, structural, and geotechnical engineering. It includes full text for EERC, SEMM, and PEER reports published at UC Berkeley, the NISEE software library, and images from EQIIS.

The Largest Database for Civil and Structural Engineers. Discover the diversity of civil, structural and bridge engineering – more than 81,000 structures with over 15 000 participating companies and their products as well as 11 000 engineers and architects, all of that illustrated with 372,000 images. The database also includes a literature index of more than 570,000 publications.

Postscript and PDF research articles on computer and information science. Tools include citation tracking and searching for tables within a document.

Schloss Dagstuhl - Leibniz Center for Informatics. (2020, January 4). dblp is an on-line reference database providing free access to high-quality bibliographic meta-data and links to the electronic editions of computer science publications. When an external website that hosts an electronic edition of a research paper is known, a hyperlink together with the bibliographic meta-data is provided. Some links require subscriptions and some are open access.

Welcome to the Computing Research Repository (CoRR) in arXiv. The Computer Science section of arXiv was established in 1998 through a partnership of the Association for Computing Machinery, the Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library, and arXiv.

The Henry J. Bruman Map Collection at UCLA contains historical and contemporary maps from around the world. The digital collection focuses on historical maps of California, Los Angeles County, and the city of Los Angeles with an emphasis on maps from 1860-1950. This is an ongoing project and maps will be added to this collection as they are scanned and processed.

Mapping database of areas described by the United States Home Owners' Loan Corporation between 1935 and 1940. Note phrases such as "infiltration" and "hazardous" to indicate areas with relatively higher numbers of minority residents, therefore "redlined" and deemed too risky to grant mortgage loans to residents.

Provides easy access to digitized historical maps from libraries around the world

PANGAEA is operated as an Open Access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research.

GeoRef covers journals and series that are openly available on the web and appear to provide stable open-access to current issues, have multiple issues available for use, and appear to plan to continue to be available in an open manner.

Browse geography articles and reports made freely available by NASEM.

zbMATH Open (formerly known as Zentralblatt MATH) is the world's most comprehensive and longest-running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics.

E-prints from physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.

E-prints from physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.

INSPIRE is a trusted community hub that helps researchers to share and find accurate scholarly information in high energy physics.

The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant.

Browse the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) databases, including atomic & molecular data, nuclear physics data, and more.