Freely Available and Open Access Resources

The world’s largest collection of open access research papers.

Browse millions of electronic theses and dissertations.

DOAJ's mission is to increase the visibility, accessibility, reputation, usage and impact of quality, peer-reviewed, open access scholarly research journals globally, regardless of discipline, geography or language.

Contains several hundred academic books that are published online and are open access.

OpenDOAR is the quality-assured global directory of academic open access repositories. It enables the identification, browsing and search for repositories, based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.

Browse open and free content made available through JSTOR and Artstor.

Academic Journals' mission is to accelerate the dissemination of knowledge through the publication of high quality research articles using the open access model.

The Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Paperity is a multidisciplinary aggregator of Open Access journals and papers.

Uses the Google search engine to search for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Includes full text and citations.

Project Gutenberg is a library of over 70,000 free eBooks, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.

A growing collection of contemporary open access e-books. The books in this collection cover a wide range of subjects, including history, music, poetry, technology, and works of fiction. Most of the books in this collection were published in English, but there are some titles in other languages.

OpenStax is an educational initiative headed by Rice University dedicated to publishing high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print.

Google's free books are made available to read through careful consideration of and respect for copyright law globally: they are public-domain works, made free on request of the copyright owner, or copyright-free, e.g. US government documents. Use this link to search for available books in Google's digital database.

Not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries now preserving 18+ million digitized items in the HathiTrust Digital Library. We offer reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. and international copyright law, text and data mining tools for the entire corpus, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.

Rare and unique digital materials developed by the UCLA Library to support education, research, service, and creative expression, including the AIDS Poster Collection, the Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive and more. Legacy site with additional content also available.

Still and moving images, prints, maps, and other documents that chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America and more. (From the collections of the Library of Congress.)

Launched in 2013, this site provides access to millions of digitized primary sources from archives, museums, and libraries across United States.