Cluster 48: Political Violence in the Modern World: Cases, and Consequences

Both concise and wide-ranging, this encyclopedia covers massacres, atrocities, war crimes, and genocides, including acts of inhumanity on all continents; and serves as a reminder that lest we forget, history will repeat itself. * Provides coverage of atrocities, massacres, and war crimes that is wide-ranging in scope and historical perspective, covering everything from genocides to isolated actions that constituted grave breaches of the laws of war * Comprises contributions from over 200 scholars, including international law experts currently prosecuting war crimes * Contains a lengthy chronology of major atrocities throughout history * Written in accessible and clear language appropriate for college freshmen and general readers

Written by almost 100 experts from many countries, this award winning text is the first reference work to chart the full extent of this horrific subject with objectivity and authority. * Over 200 A-Z entries covering all known genocides, each with leads to further information * Sidebars that place a human face on genocide's destruction and pain

Genocide: the systematic annihilation of a group of people for simply being who they are, whether in ethnic, religious or social terms. It has been with us since the beginning of history. The most widely-studied and catastrophic examples are, however, historically close: the Nazi Holocaust against the Jew, ethnic cleansing in Bosnia, and tribal warfare in Rwanda. Genocide is unfortunately a key feature of the study of world history at nearly every level. The Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes against Humanity spans the globe to explain the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large. It traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiles perpetrators and heroes, and explains international laws and law proceedings aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity at specific groups or at least punishing those who have committed such crimes.

Offering a multidimensional approach to one of the most important episodes of the 20th century, The Columbia Guide to the Holocaust offers readers and researchers a general history of the Holocaust while delving into the core issues and debates in the study of the Holocaust today.

This concise, easy-to-use resource on the Holocaust is rich in factual and statistical information, and provides a comprehensive compilation of the people and terms that are essential for an understanding of the Holocaust.

The Holocaust was perpetrated by the Nazis as a means of eliminating the Jews from the planet. It was an unprecedented event in history, inasmuch as a nation state had never before targeted an entire people for extinction. Yet, more than half a century later, there is a tendency to forget, if not to relativize, the Nazi extermination campaign against the Jews. More insidiously, a vicious effort is being made in limited circles to deny the Holocaust. The Historical Dictionary of the Holocaust is another reminder of what happened to the Jews and other victims of Nazi Germany's genocidal policies. In the years since the publication of the first edition of the Historical Dictionary of the Holocaust a significant amount of scholarship has been published. The second edition expands upon the first with an updated chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 400 cross-referenced dictionary entries on significant events, personalities, issues, and films and literature--because much of the public derive their understanding of the Holocaust from the arts.

This four-volume set provides reference entries, primary documents, and personal accounts from individuals who lived through the Holocaust that allow readers to better understand the cultural, political, and economic motivations that spurred the Final Solution. * Provides an easily readable encyclopedic collection of secondary source materials, such as reference entries, maps, and tables, that offer a breadth of content for understanding the Holocaust * Examines a broad range of themes relating to the Holocaust, enabling readers to consider important questions about the historical experience and its implications for today * Includes two volumes of primary source material that introduce users to the cultural, political, and economic motivations that spurred the Final Solution * Presents memoirs and personal narratives that showcase the experiences of survivors and resistors who lived through the chaos and horror of the Final Solution * Includes a comprehensive bibliography that serves as a gateway to further research

This monumental 7-volume encyclopedia, the result of years of work by the Jack, Joseph, and Morton Mandel Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, will describe the universe of camps and ghettos--some 20,000 in all--that the Nazis and their allies operated, from Norway to North Africa and from France to Russia. For the first time, a single reference work will provide detailed information on each individual site. This first volume covers three groups of camps: the early camps that the Nazis established in the first year of Hitler's rule, the major SS concentration camps with their constellations of subcamps, and the special camps for Polish and German children and adolescents. Overview essays provide context for each category, while each camp entry provides basic information about the site's purpose; the prisoners, guards, working and living conditions; and key events in the camp's history. Material from personal testimonies helps convey the character of the site, while source citations provide a path to additional information.