Research Guides: French Studies: Dissertations

Apartment buildings along the banks of the Seine River

Photo by Gissel Rios

Thèses
Access to about 60,00 French dissertations, 4000 of them full text.
Sudoc (Système Universitaire de Documentation)
A gateway to academic libraries and other scholarly centers and library collections in France. The database includes records of dissertations (all sorts) produced in French institutions.

1. Go to Sudoc, and click on the line ‘Sudoc – Catalogue.’
2. Go to Recherche avancée on the top menu (Advanced search).
3. Adjust the search criterium according to the information you know (‘Tous les mots,’ for instance, searches the entire record.) and type in your search terms.
4. Uncheck everything except Thèse under Type of publication.
5. Click on Recherche.

* and ? equally work for truncation.
more...less...
You may try to find the dissertation at the Foreign Doctoral Dissertations database of the Center of Research Libraries. If you do not find the title you want, please contact the person dealing with publication requests at CRL. They will buy those dissertations that are not already held in their collection. You also need to fill out an interlibrary loan request form in order to receive the dissertation at the circulation desk of a UCLA library.
Catalogue des thèses de doctorat soutenues devant les universités françaises
Ministère de l'éducation nationale, Direction des bibliothèques de France. Paris : Cercle de la librairie, 1960-

Helveticat
The Swiss National Library has a copy of dissertations written in the country. Add the word "diss" to your search terms in order to retrieve dissertations.
Jahresverzeichnis der schweizerischen Hochschulschriften = Catalogue des écrits académiques suisses
Printed source. 1897/8-1991

MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing. Articles published in works listed in the directory are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.