View of Eiffel Tower from Centre Pompidou
Photo by Gissel Rios
How to Look for Articles?
To Look for a Specific Journal, or an Article For Which You Know the Citation
Search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog
To Find Articles on a Topic
Go to one or more of the article databases below. The lists below offer links to databases with thousands of journals. Some of them contain the full text of the articles, others only bibliographic information (author, title, subject etc.). Almost every database that contains only bibliographic information has a link called UC-eLinks. It will take you to the full text of the article if it can find it online. If not, it will let you search the Catalog for a print copy. And if neither of those work, it has a link where you can request the article by interlibrary loan.
Article Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- CAIRN French Studies BouquetA full text article database of periodicals on history, literature, and philosophy, including periodicals like the Annales, Moyen Âge, Dix-Septième Siècle, Dix-Huitième Siècle, Vingtième Siècle, Revue de littérature comparée, Revue internationale de philosophie, etc.
- FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to European journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. Multiple languages, 1972 to 2015. FRANCIS is no longer being updated.
- Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database that provides access to the literary criticism collections Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism (CMLC), Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Drama Criticism (DC), Literature Criticism from 1400-1800 (LC), Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC), Poetry Criticism (PC), Shakespeare Criticism (SC), Short Story Criticism (SSC), and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC). - Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Combines the core Gale Group literary databases: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Complements Literature Criticism Online. - Literature Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also known as LION. An array of literary databases (including the full text of poems, plays, and fiction), reference works (including bibliographies, encyclopedias, etc.), and links to other Web resources for the study of literature. The complete text of journal articles is available on the database for all or some of the journals indexed. Fully searchable texts of over 250,000 works in English and American Literature. - Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles published in over 7,000 periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences, covering the period 1665-1995. Full text of many articles can be found in Periodicals Archive Online. - PERSEE - Portail des revues scientifiques en sciences humaines et sociales This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Open access portal to back issues for scholarly journals in the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities. An initiative of the French Ministry of State Education, Higher Education and Higher Education and Research.
- Revues.orgPortal of scholarly journals in international studies, social sciences and humanities.
- Sources Chrétiennes Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
“Sources Chrétiennes Online” forms the digital, searchable counterpart to the well-known “Sources Chrétiennes” series, based in Lyon and published by Éditions du Cerf, Paris. By 2025, the database will incorporate the source texts from the more than 600 printed volumes, in Latin, Greek, Syriac, Armenian and Georgian, sided by French translations and allowing for targeted and filtered searches.
Additional Useful Databases
- IBZ Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur is a multilingual database indexing over 5600 periodicals, including a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent, 1983 to the present. - International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary bibliography of Europe, North Africa and the Near East for the period 300-1500. Comprehensive current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials in the fields of linguistics, language behavior, and related disciplines, as well as books, book chapters, occasional papers, technical reports, and dissertations. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955. - SA ePublications This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
South African and African full-text, peer-reviewed journals in social sciences and humanities.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.
- University of Chicago PressAccess to scholarly journals published by the University of Chicago.
- University of California PressAccess to scholarly journals and books published by the University of California.
- IngentaConnectA gateway to academic and professional journals.
- SAGE Complete Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of journals available from SAGE Publications.
Related Databases with French Materials
- Africa-Wide Information This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Material on Africa from the 19th century to the present. Sources include books, journal and magazine articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, and music recordings. - Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) This link opens in a new windowPublished by the Getty Research Institute of the J. Paul Getty Trust and the French Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS), BHA is the most comprehensive art bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to 2009. It is continued by the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).
- Inter-PlayAn online index to plays in collections, anthologies, and periodicals.
Digitized Historical Journal Collections
- Gallica (Bibliotheque nationale de France)Go to the Periodicals menu item if you want to find digitized journals.
- Les principaux quotidiensThe most important daily newspapers (old issues) in Gallica
- Europeana NewspapersHistorical newspaper collections from European libraries.
- Numérisation de la presse belgeDigitized collections at the Bibliothèque royale de Belgique.
- European Newspaper ArchivesLinks to many archives of digitized old issues of newspapers.
- ICON (International Coalition of NewspapersNOT A FULL TEXT DATABASE! SEARCH FOR NEWSPAPER TITLES ONLY. A catalog that can locate paper, microfilm or digitized copies of newspapers.