French Studies

One of the most important dictionaries of the French language, compiled on historical principles and giving comprehensive coverage of French from the 15th century to the present. Over 80,000 words, with etymology, pronunciation, analogies, synonyms and antonyms, and the history of each word's development. Quotations with precise sources, and cross-references to other words.

Texts of nearly 2,000 French classic works, ranging from the 12th to the 20th centuries. Includes ARTFL-FRANTEXT (main database), French Women Writers, Provençal Poetry, Textes de Français Ancien (TFA), The Journal de Trévoux, Dictionnaire historique et critique, Le Grand dictionnaire historique, and Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (OVI) Database. Click on ARTFL Reference Collection to see French reference works.

Interdisciplinary bibliography of Europe, North Africa and the Near East for the period 300-1500. Comprehensive current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide.

The Lexikon is the standard encyclopaedia for medieval studies. It deals with all branches of the field and covers the period from AD 300 to 1500 for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. The International Encyclopaedia is an English language supplement to the Lexikon.

Searches multiple literary sources, including: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writer Series, and Twayne's Authors Series. Scroll down to click on Gale's Literary Index, a master index to the major literature products published by Gale.

Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Combines the core Gale Group literary databases: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Complements Literature Criticism Online.

Indexes huge microfiche collection (located in YRL Reference) of short biographical entries from a variety of sources about eminent individuals who lived in North and South America, Western and Central Europe, Australia, New Zealand, and Oceania. The fiche contains complete text of biographical info, while the website indicates birth and death years, occupation, source quoted (archive, fiche-number and page) and bibliographic information about the sources used. (archive, fiche-number and page) and bibliographic information about the sources used.

A good place to start, but note that it is an index to over 15 million articles in 11,000 subject encyclopedias and handbooks, both print and online and does not provide full-text articles. Instead, it will connect you to our catalog so you know where to find the appropriate encyclopedia, dictionary or other reference work. You will be linked to UCLA's holdings for any entries you find.

Spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. UC subscription allows limited simultaneous users, so if you can't connect try again later.