Matthew Vest
Get In-Person Research Help
Still need help locating materials and/or developing your research methodologies?
In-person research assistance is avialable in the Music Library.
Summer Session Research Help Hours
By appointment only; please email me.
Purpose of This Guide
This guide is meant to assist you in finding sources (e.g., books, articles, recordings) for papers and assignments in MUS HST 12W: Writing About Music.
Quick Links
- Music Library HomeCentral web site for music research at UCLA.
- Listen OnlineListen online to jazz, opera, classical, popular songs, and more.
- Indexes to Music JournalsIndexes to articles in music journals, MPA: Music and Performing Arts Online is best for this class.
- Arts LibrarySee links for Art History and Film, Theater, and Television.
- Off-Campus (VPN or Proxy Server) Access to Library eResourcesHow to access licensed online content from off-campus.
Other Music Research Guides
- Jazz ResearchResearch resources for jazz and all its styles: ragtime, blues, bebop, cool, etc.
- Music Resources in Library Special Collections Research GuideA guide to research resources in UCLA Library Special Collections, books, scores, manuscripts, archival material, and recordings.
- Opera, Operetta, and Musical Theater Research GuideResearch resources in opera and musical theater.
Subject Headings for Writing About Music
Subject Headings denote the library catalog's groupings for similarly related materials. Knowing how to use subject headings will tailor and ultimately maximize your research results.
The following is a non-exhaustive list of subject headings used to recall materials on writing about music.
Shout-Out to Special Collections
In addition to the physical archival materials--located at YRL--you can access digital archival collections via the UCLA Digital Library, Calisphere and the Online Archive of California (OAC). Examples of music collections available via UCLA Special Collections (digital), include The Hathaway Manuscripts (antiquarian), The Mark Weber Jazz Photograph Collection and The Strachwitz Frontera Collection.
The Hathaway Manuscript