Research Guides: Community Health Sciences 132: Health, Disease, and Health Services in Latin America: Article Databases

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Tips for using Google Scholar effectively for research (from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign).

Research Help

Need more research help? We're here for you.

Chat with us online

Email us your quick questions

Public Health Core Databases

These are some core databases for the general field of Public Health. Check out the Public Health guide for more databases to explore.

Note that many of these sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text. Use the button to find the full text.

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
CABI Global Health This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 4 million research records dedicated to national, regional, and international public health.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 1,300 English-language nursing and allied health journals and publications back to 1937. Includes access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Embase provides essential biomedical evidence from evidence-based content, along with deep biomedical indexing and search forms to assist in building search strategies.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.

Latin American Core Databases

is your link to full-text! Note that some sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text. Use the button to find the full text or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.

Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Web) This link opens in a new window
Citations and annotations of scholarly articles, books, book chapters, conference papers on Central and South America, Mexico, Caribbean Basin, United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Articles are drawn from more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. Produced by the UCLA Latin American Center.
RedALyC: Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, Espana y Portugal This link opens in a new window
Full-text searchable electronic journal archive of social science, humanities, natural and physical science journals produced in Iberoamerica.
SciELO This link opens in a new window
The objective of SciELO Social Sciences English Edition is to contribute to the promotion of international access to Latin American scientific journals in Social Sciences. Its main characteristic is to make available English full texts, at no charge to the public, in order to increase Latin America Social Sciences visibility and accessibility.

Additional Latin American Databases

Bibliografia Mesoamericana This link opens in a new window
Searchable bibliography for Mesoamerican studies, across a range of disciplines. Provides access to the scholarly literature on ancient Mesoamerica from 1960 to the present.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic materials on Mexican-American topics 1967 to the present. Scope expanded 1992 to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database.
ClasePeriódica This link opens in a new window
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities, produced by Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico (UNAM). CLASE (1975- ) covers humanities and social sciences; PERIODICA (1978- ) covers sciences.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete text of articles since 1990 from 200 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press, along with archival material dating back to the mid 1980s. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC) This link opens in a new window
Searchable Web database that provides access to the tables of contents of more than 900 journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America. If the journals are not available in the UCLA Catalog or in UC Library Search, UCLA students, faculty, and staff may follow the instructions for online photocopy request. This database was created by the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project (LARRP).

Additional Latin American databases

General and Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and indexing for more than 9,500 journals and a total of nearly 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Features 5,500 full-text periodicals with PDF content going back as far as 1865.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new window
Index to articles published in over 7,000 periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences, covering the period 1665-1995. Full text of many articles can be found in Periodicals Archive Online.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.

Disciplinary Databases

These social sciences databases may include Latin American and Chicano/Latino content about health and health services. The content may overlap with the coverage of core Latin American and Chicano Studies databases. Subject terms and search strategy should be modified accordingly.

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text publications focusing on the impact of gender across multiple subject areas. Include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and more.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science, international relations, law, and public policy.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
International coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics from 1972 to the present. Includes PAIS Archive, which covers 1915 to 1976.