Skip to main content

Community Health Sciences 132: Health, Disease, and Health Services in Latin America

Course guide to library resources on Latin America.

Access to Print Resources (as of 3/20/20)

 

As part of UCLA's transition to remote instruction, and the Library's necessary decision to close all Library locations, access to print resources and special collections is not available. Please take advantage of electronic resources such as ebooks and article databases. The UCLA community can connect to these online resources off-campus via the VPN or proxy server. Interlibrary loan is still available for electronic journal articles; however, ebooks cannot be borrowed on interlibrary loan. You can also temporarily access digitized print books via HathiTrust, although you cannot download or print these books--only do screenshots.

The library is also extending access to our print collection beyond what's available in HathiTrust through the Pilot Emergency Temporary Digititzation on Request Service (PETDOR). Please review the PETDOR FAQ for guidance on using this service. 

For help with any of our resources, please schedule an appointment with a librarian (audio/video Zoom appointments available), contact your subject librarian directly, or use our 24/7 chat service.    

    

Quick Links

Library Catalogs

Use these catalogs to find books, journal titles, and other materials held by the library. If you're looking for journal articles on a topic, use the Article Databases tab above to find relevant databases.

Research in the UCLA Library

This course guide for Health, Disease, and Health Services in Latin America is designed as a starting point for locating information about Latin America. It provides information on many types of research materials, and includes links to important electronic resources.

Use the tabs above to link to the parts of the guide, and be sure to also explore the Public Health guide.

UCLA Library Website

Research Assistance

Research assistance is available in person, by phone, by e-mail, or via 24/7 online chat.

Library Prize for Undergraduate Research


The Library Prize for Undergraduate Research recognizes and honors excellence in undergraduate research at UCLA. Cash prizes will be awarded for the best projects (group or individual) supported by UCLA Library resources.

Prize categories include the Arts and Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences; as well as projects that incorporate resources from the UCLA Library Special Collections and the Music Library's contemporary music collections.