News Databases
Many newspapers and newswires published in Latin America are available online in news databases. The following are available to UCLA students.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new windowFull-text of key international news sources, including 42 newspapers and newswires from Latin America and the Caribbean. Also includes local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America. Includes La Opinion.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFull-text business and general news content covering thousands of sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages. Includes US and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also: company and industry profiles; company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons; stock price data; and stock charting.
NOTE: Text mining of Factiva is strictly prohibited.
- ISLA - Information Services Latin AmericaCarefully selected articles from nine major English-language news sources, organized in a convenient, user-friendly fashion. For print issues prior to 2004, see ISLA in the Library Catalog.
- Latin America Digital Beat / Data Base This link opens in a new windowAn online news service that produced three weekly electronic news bulletins about Mexico (SourceMex), Central America and the Caribbean including Cuba (NotiCen) and South America (NotiSur) which ceased publication April 30, 2018. Produced by the University of New Mexico. The LADB webpage and archive will remains online and accessible to current subscribers.
- Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 from the World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
More than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere. Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text news, business, legal, medical, and reference information, including Spanish-language sources.
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
Other News Links
- LANIC Newspaper & News in Latin AmericanThis site contains links to Latin American newspaper websites, as well as Spanish-language newspapers in the United States.