Librarian
Major Newspapers
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2000].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 2015. For access to current issues, see Los Angeles Times [1985-present].
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2020]
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1851 to 2020. For access to current issues, see The New York Times [1980-present]. Contains the former Historical Index to the New York Times (1851-1923) from the database Historical Newspapers Online.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2012].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the Wall Street Journal. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text, from 1889 to 2012. For access to current issues, see Wall Street Journal [1984-present].
- Sacramento Bee
- This link opens in a new window
UCLA has print and microfilm holdings of the Bee back to 1857. Please consult the UCLA Library Catalog. Available online from 1984 - 2021 through Access World News.
Other Historical News Sources
In addition to the resources listed here, the Library has many newspapers in print and microfilm. Check the Library catalog or contact me with questions.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersDigital project from the Library of Congress including online access to newspapers published from between 1690-present. Search newspaper pages digitized through the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
- America's Historical Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable American newspapers, 1690-1900.
News Databases
Need to get the latest news or articles? Use these databases to access local, state, national and international news sources.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Restricted to UC Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 875 U.S. and over 1800 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. - Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. It contains articles from as early as 1983, but a bulk of the coverage is from 1991 to the present. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access (mostly full text), through multiple language interfaces, to business and general news content covering more than 31,000 sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, Web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also: company and industry profiles; company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons; stock price data; and stock charting. Includes the Los Angeles Business Journal. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Looking for the LA Times? LexisNexis only has the last six months. Use the LA Times via Proquest, in the Major Newspapers section on this page instead. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Keesing's Worldwide Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digest of political, social, and economic events for all countries of the world from 1931 to the present. Includes over 175,000 full text reports.
- Facts on File World News Digest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World news digest for 1940-present. Includes stories on people, stats, and world events from the top news stories for each decade.
Los Angeles Blogs
Online News Radio
- KNX 1070 AM NewsradioCoverage for Los Angeles and Orange Counties
- KPCC 89.3 FM, Southern California Public Radio (SCPR)Very good coverage of Los Angeles politics and culture.
- KPFK 90.7 FMLos Angeles Pacifica radio station