Databases
- Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window"The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present"--introductory information.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new windowCitations from early English texts from 1475 to 1700, presented as digital images. Includes works by Malory, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, Galileo; musical exercises by Henry Purcell and novels by Aphra Behn; prayer books, pamphlets, and proclamations; almanacs, calendars, and many other primary sources.
- Empire Online This link opens in a new windowPrimary source manuscripts and secondary essays relevant to Empire Studies. The sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion & Empire; and Race, Class & Colonialism, 1783-1969.
- The Making of the Modern World: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowThis database includes over 59,500 titles on books, serials, pamphlets, essays and more. Tracks the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth A digital collection of more than 61,000 books from the period 1460-1850, and 466 pre-1906 serials. Focuses on economics but includes political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. Combines the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library, and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard University Graduate School of Business Administration along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale.
- English Reports Full Reprint, 1220 - 1867, and Statutes of the Realm, 1235 - 1713, from HeinOnlineHeinOnline is a full-text searchable database of legal periodicals. Coverage for each periodical is from the beginning issue to the most current allowed under the contract.
- The Parliament Rolls of Medieval England, 1275 - 1509 The rolls of parliament were the official records of the meetings of the English parliament from the reign of Edward I (1272 – 1307) until the reign of Henry VII (1485 – 1509), after which they were superseded by the journals of the lords and, somewhat later, of the commons. The rolls, which amount in total to over four million words, were first edited in the eighteenth century and published in 1783 in six folio volumes entitled Rotuli Parliamentorum ( RP) under the general editorship of the Reverend John Strachey. This new edition reproduces the rolls edited in RP in their entirety, plus those subsequently published by Cole, Maitland, and Richardson and Sayles as well as a substantial amount of material never previously published, together with a full translation of all the texts from the three languages used by the medieval clerks (Latin, Anglo-Norman and Middle English). It also includes an introduction to every parliament known to have been held by an English king (or in his name) between 1275 and 1504, whether or not the roll for that parliament survives. Where appropriate, appendices of supplementary material are also provided, including information about the parliament in question derived from sources other than the roll. Much of this supplementary material consists of petitions to parliament, which are discussed in separate sections below (see sections A(iv) and B(iii) of this introduction).
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more, based on the English Short Title Catalogue. A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with major works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800.
- C19: Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new windowIncludes House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (19th c.), as well as nineteenth century books, periodicals, newspapers, and archives related to Great Britain and the United States.
- U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new windowAccess to the British Parliamentary Papers, 1801-2016. Includes bills and acts, command papers, House of Commons papers, and more.
- JSTOR 19th Century British PamphletsThis collection, created by RLUK (Research Libraries UK), contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries. Pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day.
Web Resources
- The National Archives of the United Kingdom, CatalogueContains 11 million descriptions of documents from central government, courts of law and other UK national bodies, including records on family history, medieval tax, criminal trials, UFO sightings, the history of many countries and many other subjects.
- The National Archives of IrelandIncludes digitized records of Census of Ireland from 1901 and 1911.
- Institute of Historical ResearchPart of the University of London, resources for historians on this site include online articles, training courses, and an open-access library.
- British History OnlineBritish History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust.
Online Catalogs
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online Catalog This link opens in a new windowCRL holds approximately five million newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching. Current acquisitions emphasize materials produced outside the United States, especially publications and archives from developing regions.