Introduction to British Parliament and Parliamentary Papers
The following books from the UCLA Research Library and the links to the UK Parliament Website will provide the novice researcher with further reading about the British Parliamentary Papers.
- A guide to Parliamentary Papers: what they are: how to find them: how to use themAs the title suggest, this concise book explain Parliamentary Papers, how to find them, how to use them, and how to cite them.
- A guide to British Government publicationsInformation about British Parliament and British Government publications.
- Publications and Records from the UK Parliament WebsiteBrowse the latest publications from the UK Parliament Website.
- Descriptions and Explanations of the Publications of ParliamentFrom the UK Parliament Website
- A century of diplomatic blue books 1814-1914To find diplomatic papers issued by the Foreign Office material was issued as diplomatic "blue books" (not the colonial blue books mentioned later)
Ref Z2009.T24C
Searching the House of Commons Sessional Papers
The Charles E. Young Research Library has indexes to the Sessional Papers in the A-Level Reference Reading Room from call numbers J301.H65 through J301.M3. Indexes are also located at the end of each parliamentary session.
All Command Papers are included in the Sessional Papers. The series numbers correspond to the following years.
| Abbreviations | Numbers | Years |
|---|---|---|
| [none] | 1–4222 | 1833–1869 |
| C | 1–9550 | 1870–1899 |
| CD | 1–9239 | 1900–1918 |
| CMD | 1–9889 | 1919–1956 |
| CMND | 1–9927 | 1956–1986 |
| CM | 1–present | 1987–present |
- U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP) database by keyword, title, chair/author, or session number.
- Catalogue of British Parliamentary Papers in the Irish University Press 1000-volume seriesThe index to the Irish University Press 1000-volume century of Parliamentary Papers from the 19th century.
- A breviate to parliamentary papers, 1900 - 1954 (3 vols.)Breviates are bibliographies.
- Index to House of Commons Sessional Papers, 21st c.Microfiche indexes located in binders in the Research Library Reference Reading Room, #J301.K6.
- Index to current House of Commons parliamentary papers, sessions 1991/92–2008/2009 [electronic resource]In the Research Library's Electronic Reference Resource Area.
Searching the Parliamentary Debates
Finding Aids for The Parliamentary Debates until 1803 resources
For the print copy Parliamentary or Constitutional History of England from the Earliest Times to the Restoration of Charles II, volume 1 is a general index to the 24 volume set. The same online title available via The Eighteenth Century Online database will also allow you to search the volumes by a keyword search, but the general index is an easier place to start your search.
Cobbett's Parliamentary History of England contains a Table of Contents at the beginning of each volume, as well as an index to the speakers at the beginning of each volume. The Making of the Modern World database will also search the text by keyword.
Finding Aids for The Parliamentary Debates, 1803 to 1909 (series 1 - 4) resources
There is an index at the back of each volume of the debates from this period.
Hansard debates were published in series. Therefore, you will see the items listed in the catalog according to series number, volume number, and year. For example, ser.1, vol.002, 1804 stands for Series 1, Volume 2, Year 1804. Beginning with Series 5, the Parliamentary Debates of the House of Commons and House of Lords are published separately.
Series 1: 1803–1820
Series 2: 1820–1830
Series 3: 1830–1891
Series 4: 1892–1908
Series 5: 1909–1949
Series 6: 1950–
Finding Aids for The Parliamentary Debates, 1909 to Present (series 5–6)
There are indexes located at the back of each volume. The final volume for a Parliamentary session is also an index for the entire session. For example, in the General Index to Session 1914 - 1915 for the House of Commons Parliamentary Debates, there is the entry "Canada: British North America Act Amendment - Papers Present [71], 1619." The number in brackets refers to the volume number and the second number refers to the column number.
Searching the Journals, Votes, and Proceedings
Each volume of the Debates has an index located at the end. Indexes are also published cumulatively every ten years since 1880. The House of Commons Journals are located in the Charles E. Young Research Library stacks, call number J301.K3. The House of Lords Journals are located under call number J301.J3.