Other Resources
- Citing Film, Video and Online Media (MLA Style)Guide from UCB Media Center. Consult latest edition of the MLA handbook for any changes to formatting.
- Audiovisual Citation Guidelines (British Universities Film & Video Council)Examples of best practices for citing media materials, including clips, DVD extras, games, and more.
- Leonard Maltin's Movie GuideExtensive longstanding print guide to movies, with short reviews and ratings. The Movie Guide ceased publication in 2015.
- DVD BeaverOffers reviews of films and especially specific DVD editions available internationally
Library Databases with Streaming Video
Subscription databases from the UCLA Library with streaming video content. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of modern dance performances and documentaries.
- Academic Video Online
- This link opens in a new window
Cross-search of all UCLA subscriptions to Alexander Street Press video databases: Filmakers Library, Ethnographic Video, Dance in Video, Theatre in Video, Nursing Education in Video, and Counseling and Therapy in Video.
- Ethnographic Video Online: Foundational Films This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Volumes I and II of Ethnographic Video Online. Contains streaming video of documentary footage focused on the study of human culture and behavior. Includes ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, interviews, field notes, and study guides. See also volume III, Indigenous Voices; and, volume IV, Festivals and Archives. - Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes network evening news broadcasts from the major US national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. Includes historical streaming video from NBC (since 1968) and CNN.
- Victorian Popular Culture: VideoVideo clips from the British Film Institute (BFI) National Archive spanning the years 1894-1926.
- Filmakers Library Online
- This link opens in a new window
Online video collection featuring hundreds of documentaries covering a range of topics. Subjects include race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
UCLA Collections
While individual academic departments may also have their own collections of film and video, the repositories below house collections that are publicly cataloged or listed. Each has a different access policy and many are administered by separate campus entities, so it is important to check individual websites even though many holdings appear in the UCLA Library Catalog.
- Instructional Media Collections and ServicesVideo collection funded for instructional on-campus use. Though holdings are also listed in the UCLA Library Catalog, users can double-check the separate IMCS catalog available from the website.
- UCLA Film and Television ArchiveThe UCLA Film and Television Archive has research copies of many titles, with particular strength in Hollywood film. The catalog is also distinct, and can be accessed via the Archive's homepage.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowIndividual libraries with very selective video and DVD holdings: Music, East Asian, Biomedical, Law (for Law students only), Arts, YRL, and SRLF. You can limit to “Visual Materials” in the catalog to search all of these. Access and loan options vary.
- UCLA Ethnomusicology ArchiveThe Archive’s collection of more than 150,000 audio, video, print, and photographic items documents musical expressions throughout the world and includes unique field recordings as well as rare commercial recordings.