Quick Links
- Off-Campus (VPN or Proxy Server) Access to Library eResourcesHow to access licensed online content from off-campus.
- Course ReservesFind books that are on reserve for your class. Search by Course Name, Course Instructor, Course ID or Course Department.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
Guides to Citation Styles and Avoiding Plagiarism
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The complete 17th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style.
- Guide to Citation StylesResources for citation guidelines in arts, humanities, and social sciences fields.
- Avoiding PlagiarismResources with tips on paraphrasing, using citation styles, and taking notes.
Get Started with Articles
Looking for articles in journals and magazines? The databases below can help you get started finding resources.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present. - Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. Former database title: International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text. - ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes costume, performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, ethnic arts, fashion, and more. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals. - Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, reports, commentaries, etc. in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
Off-Campus Access
Before you get started using any of the licensed resources from this guide (marked with a red lock icon), be sure you have set up the BOL Proxy Server or VPN client on your laptop or home computer! This will enable you do conduct research and access full-text articles, databases, and other resources from home. Students living on campus have automatic access, and do not need to set this up.
If you have technical issues setting up off site access, contact the Bruin Online Help Desk at 267-HELP (4357), Option 1, e-mail at consult@ucla.edu, or stop by the office at Kerckhoff Hall, Suite 124.