Online Newspapers
UCLA subscribes to a number of databases with both current and historical newspaper content. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text world newspapers, mostly post-1980s in coverage. Especially useful for local and state news and reviews, including many California papers. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes a range of recent full text international newspapers, and business news. - New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2020]
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2000].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text facsimile of the historical New York Times - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 2015. For access to current issues, see Los Angeles Times [1985-present].
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from urban and rural regions throughout the US. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with emphasis on topics such as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, and Antebellum-era life. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text historical content from influential black Chicago newspapers. - Times of London Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images (excluding the Sunday Times) for 1785-2019.
- Irish Newspaper Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of many Irish newspapers, including both historical and current content from the 1700s to current day.
Article Databases with Reviews
Article databases used for finding scholarly criticism also often contain reviews of performances. Below are some of the key databases with review content. Some of them also allow you to pre-limit to reviews as a publication type.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.