Religion Images
- Alfred Hamy's Jesuit Portrait GalleryIn 2007 the Raynor Memorial Libraries digitized Galerie Illustrée de la Compagnie de Jésus (Paris: 1893) in order to improve access to this cornerstone collection of Jesuitica. Staff at the John J. Burns Library at Boston College graciously contributed an assortment of digital scans, allowing for the complete presentation of Alfred Hamy’s seminal work.
- Digitized Medieval ManuscriptsProvides links to digital repositories of online Medieval texts held around the world.
- Goodspeed Manuscript CollectionThe Goodspeed Collection of New Testament Manuscripts comprises 65 early Greek, Syriac, Ethiopic, Armenian, Arabic, and Latin manuscripts ranging in date from the 7th to the 19th centuries.
- Vatican Museums OnlineSculptures and paintings exhibited in the galleries, as well as the artistically relevant places of the Vatican Apostolic Palace such as the Niccolina Chapel, the Borgia apartment, the rooms painted by Raphael, and the Sistine Chapel.
- ArchNetArchNet is an international online community for architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, conservationists, and scholars, with a focus on Muslim cultures and civilizations.
- Benaki Museum Collection of Islamic ArtThe evolution of Islamic civilisation from the first appearance of Islam up to the Ottoman period and the corresponding development of Islamic art up to the 19th century are demonstrated by more than 8,000 works of art, including ceramics, gold, metalwork, textiles and glass, smaller groupings of bone objects, inscribed funerary steles and weaponry, as well as the marble-faced interior of a reception room from a 17th-century Cairo mansion.
- Freer|Sackler Collections: Arts of the Islamic WorldMore than 2,200 objects including Egyptian and Syrian metalwork from the 13th century, Syrian glass from the 14th-century and a distinguished collection of illustrated and illuminated manuscripts from Iran and the Arab world, including the Divan (Collected poems) of Sultan Ahmad Jalayir, ca. 1400; Haft Awrang (Seven Thrones) by Jami, dated 1556–66; and six illustrations from the 14th-century Mongol Shahnama (Book of Kings), one of the most important illustrated texts of the Islamic world.
- Islamic Art at the Los Angeles County Museum of ArtThis website is conceived as a companion to the Islamic galleries at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art. Intended as a general introduction to Islamic art, it draws upon examples from the museum’s comprehensive collection, which includes works from an area extending from southern Spain to Central Asia, ranging in date from the seventh century up to the present day.
- Islamic Art at the LouvreThe Department of Islamic Art, the youngest of the museum's eight departments, was created in 2003 and is scheduled to reopen in 2010 with over 2000 items on display.
- Islamic Art in its Cultural Context from the David CollectionFocusing specifically on the cultural background for art in the Islamic world, this site illustrates fourteen themes, such as The Five pillars of Islam, the Prophet Muhammad, Mecca and the Kaaba, Trade, and Medicine. The museum is located in Copenhagen.
- Discover Islamic Art at the Museum With No FrontiersDiscover Islamic Art contains 1235 artefacts from 40 museums, monuments and archaeological sites from 14 countries and 18 Exhibitions
- The Hermitage MuseumUse the search box in the English-language interface to locate images of religious works of art that interest you.
- Islamic Manuscripts from the Princeton Digital LibraryOver 200 manuscripts, chiefly in Arabic but also include Persian, Ottoman Turkish, and other languages of the Islamic world. They date from the early centuries of Islam through the fall of the Ottoman Empire. Most of the manuscripts originated in Arabia,
- Metropolitan Museum of ArtUse the search box to locate images of religious works of art that interest you.
- The Victoria and Albert MuseumUse the search box to locate images of religious works of art that interest you.
Selected Digital Image Resources
For more information about image resources, visit the Image Resources subject guide.
Use these sites to locate images of, and metadata for, art, artifacts and monuments. Some are freely available, others are subscription services, so remote access may be necessary when accessing from off-campus.
- AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
AP Newsroom (formerly AP Images) contains millions of photographs dating from 1826 to present day from the Associated Press. Includes thousands of graphics, audio files dating from the 1920s, and news stories and headlines from 1997 to the present. - ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains thousands of high-quality images, and is particularly strong in art history. Off-campus users must access this resource using the VPN. - Calisphere This link opens in a new windowOver one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more from the collections digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.
- CalPhotosPhotos of plants, animals, fossils, people, and landscapes from around the world.
- Flickr CommonsA free public collection of photographs from major photography archives. Contributors include the Library of Congress, the Smithsonian Institution, and more.
- Google ImagesSearches images available via Google, of mixed size and quality.
- Image Gallery in Empire OnlineAbout 300 images from the Age of Empire.
- LIFE Photo ArchiveGrowing historical photo archive for LIFE magazine, hosted by Google.
- MAVCOR Archive / Initiative for the Study of Material and Visual Cultures of Religion, Yale UniversityThis archive contains about 140 photographs of sacred sites, sculptures, paintings, drawings, and altars, representing a variety of world religions. These items have been displayed in public and private settings around the globe during the last 1000 years. Some belonged to kings; others to working-class believers.
- NYPL Digital GalleryThousands of digital images from the New York Public Library's collections.
- Still Images: Finding and Using Digital MediaUK site with advice on finding images online, getting permissions, and other tips.
- UC Shared Images: LUNA Imaging Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nineteen collections comprising over 30,000 images.
- Visual Arts Data Service (VADS)Thousands of visual arts images, including fashion, design, prints, and sculpture.
- Wikimedia CommonsThis public-domain repository contains more than 30 million images, sound files, and video clips.
- World Digital LibraryIncludes primary materials from world cultures, including manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, architectural drawings, and more.
- WorldImagesContains thousands of images on a range of global topics. This free site also includes some coverage of clothing and dress.
Selected Online Film Resources
For more in-depth information about doing research on film and television, look at the Film and Television subject guide.
Here are some online resources for finding reviews, articles, and other information about films. Some are freely available, others are subscription services, so remote access may be necessary when accessing from off-campus.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives. - AFI Catalog This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The online AFI (American Film Institute) Catalog draws its content from printed volumes that document every American feature film from 1893 to 1974. Also includes some short films from the first era of filmmaking, 1893–1910. Provides detailed filmographic information, including music credits, release dates, plot descriptions, and bibliographies. See also the AFI web version of the catalog. - Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text.
- University of Hawaii — Selected Films for Teaching Pacific StudiesLists more than 3600 films about the Pacific Islands; includes bibliographic information about each film.
- National Anthropological Archives / Smithsonian National Museum of Natural HistoryIntroduction to the National Anthropological Archives (NAA) and the Human Studies Film Archives (HSFA). Resources include fieldnotes, journals, manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, maps, sound recordings, film and video created by preeminent scholars. Click on the links on the left-hand side of the home page to continue on the resources themselves.
UCLA Film and Video Collections
For more in-depth information about doing research on film and television, look at the Film and Television subject guide.
The repositories below house collections that are publicly cataloged or listed. Each has a different access policy and many are administered by separate campus entities, so it is important to check individual websites even though many holdings appear in the UCLA Library Catalog.
- Instructional Media Collections and ServicesVideo collection funded for instructional on-campus use. Though holdings are also listed in the UCLA Library Catalog, users can double-check the separate IMCS catalog available from the website.
- Film and Television ArchiveThe Film and Television Archive has research copies of many titles, with particular strength in Hollywood film. The catalog is also distinct, and can be accessed via the Archive's homepage. Or, in the UCLA Library Catalog, click on "Select Collections."
- UCLA Film & Television Archive News and Public Affairs (NAPA) CollectionConsists of over 100,000 news programs and broadcasts taped off air from 1979 to 2003. Titles from the collection can be made available for research viewing on the UCLA campus in the Instructional Media Lab (IML), located in room 270 of the Powell Library. Viewing requests must be made in advance through the Archive Research and Study Center (ARSC).
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowIndividual libraries with selected video and DVD holdings: Music, East Asian, Biomedical, Law (for Law students only), Arts, and SRLF. You can limit to “Visual Materials” in the catalog to search all of these. Access and loan options vary, however.
- UCLA Ethnomusicology ArchiveThe Archive’s collection of more than 150,000 audio, video, print, and photographic items documents musical expressions throughout the world and includes unique field recordings as well as rare commercial recordings.
- UCLA Ralph J. Bunche Library and Media Center (Center for African American Studies)Video holdings are also listed in UCLA Library Catalog. More information about access and equipment are on the Center's website.
- Chicano Studies Research Center Library and Special CollectionsList of videos at the Library. Video holdings are also listed in UCLA Library Catalog.
Streaming Video Databases
- Alexander Street Press Video and moreCross-search of all UCLA subscriptions to Alexander Street Press video databases: Filmakers Library, Ethnographic Video, Dance in Video, Theatre in Video, Nursing Education in Video, LGBT Studies in Video, Meet the Press, and Counseling and Therapy in Video. Includes audio, video, textual materials, and websites.