Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Connect with a subject specialist
About This Guide
This guide serves as a starting point for researchers and students interested in the Study of Religion. It contains information on selected resources from the UCLA collections, as well as provides links to materials that are freely accessible elsewhere. This guide provides information on both print and electronic resources, as well as materials in other formats
Connect and network through the religious student groups, research centers, and academic associations listed below!
Acknowledgement: This guide was originally created by Jade Alburo, with the assistance of Cynthia Mari Orozco.
Religious Student Groups at UCLA
There are 100s of student organizations at UCLA, covering many interests, including RELIGION.
- UCLA Residential Life-Interfaith Living Learning CommunityThe Interfaith Living Learning Community (LLC) is a space for students to engage with the principles, traditions, and practices of spirituality and religion to create a diverse vision of faith.
Noteworthy Campus Centers for Religious Studies
- UCLA Center for the Study of ReligionCoordinate and promotes the academic study of religion at UCLA. Houses an undergraduate major and sponsors seminars, lectures, conferences, films, and artistic performances that explore the role of religious ideas, practices, and institutions within human societies, both historical and contemporary and throughout the regions of the world.
- UCLA Center for Buddhist StudiesTrains scholars and educates members of the broader community about Buddhist religion and culture in all of their diversity. UCLA has one of the top three programs in Buddhist Studies in the United States, both in terms of faculty quality and size and in breadth of coverage.
- UCLA Alan D. Leve Center for Jewish StudiesLeading research center for the study of Jewish culture and civilization in California and one of the largest and most active centers in the world.
- UCLA Center for India and South AsiaSupports research, hosts public lectures and workshops, and collaborates with other institutions and centers to raise the profile of South Asia at UCLA and in Southern California.
- UCLA Gustav E. von Grunebaum Center for Near Eastern StudiesEncourages, coordinates, and integrates instruction and research in the humanities and the social sciences, business, law, medicine and the media, and in all languages essential to an understanding of the Near East.
- UCLA Islamic Studies IDPThe interdepartmental degree program in Islamic Studies provides opportunities for study of the major languages, literatures, history, culture, and religious traditions of the populations of regions where Islamic-influenced civilizations have had, or continue to have, the greatest impact. MA and PhD offered.
Religious Studies Associations & Societies
- Theta Alpha KappaThe National Honor Society for Religious Studies and Theology.
Accessing Resources Remotely
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UCLA. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires. - Open Library (Internet Archive) This link opens in a new windowAn open, editable library catalog that offers lending of online books. Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive, and has been funded in part by a grant from the California State Library and the Kahle/Austin Foundation. More information on use available online.
Quick Links
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowUC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
- Off-Campus (VPN or Proxy Server) Access to Library eResourcesHow to access licensed online content from off-campus.