Skip to Main Content

Religion

Study of Religion

Recommend a Reference Resource

Is there a reference resource that you think the library should have?  You can recommend a book purchase or write comments to the librarian here.

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Chris Lopez (He/Him/Él)

What Are Reference Sources?

Reference sources are authoritative works that you can refer to for quick information. They may contain specific information or introductory articles. Types of reference sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, handbooks, atlases, bibliographies, and so on.

On this page, I have included religion encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks.

Specific Online Reference Sources

Dictionaries

Unless otherwise indicated (by a key icon) these selected religion dictionaries are available in print only. Click on the title to get to the catalog record. To find more topical dictionaries, search for "Religions--Encyclopedias" as a subject list in the UC Library Search Catalog's advance search.

Handbooks

Unless otherwise indicated (by a key icon)  these selected religion handbooks are available in print only. Click on the title to get to the catalog record. To find more handbooks, search for "religion handbook?" as keyword in the UCLA Library catalog.

Encyclopedias

Unless otherwise stated, these selected general religion encyclopedias are available in print only. Click on the title to get to the catalog record. To find more encyclopedias, search for "religion encyclopedia?" or "[specific religion or sect] encyclopedia?" as keyword in UC Library Search.