Online Catalogs of Dissertations and Theses
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowIndex to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations.
-
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new windowOver 5 million dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many theses are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution. UCLA students, faculty, and staff can request non-UCLA dissertations via interlibrary loan.
-
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Foreign DissertationsSearch the CRL Catalog for dissertations already held at the Center. If a foreign dissertation is not at CRL, UCLA's Interlibrary Loan Service will request that CRL acquire it for your use. This special issue of Focus on Global Resources describes CRL's extensive collection of foreign dissertations.
-
OATD.orgOpen Access Theses and Dissertations is an index of over 3 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.
UCLA Dissertations and Theses
-
UCLA Dissertations and Theses in print: Library CatalogHistorically, most doctoral dissertations and selected master's theses were deposited in the Library's main collections. Those theses and dissertations can be found in the Catalog under the subject headings Dissertations, Academic--UCLA--[Department]. As of 2012, UCLA's Graduate Division switched to all digital submissions, so the Library no longer receives print copies of UCLA theses and dissertations. See online sources below.
-
UCLA Dissertations and Theses in print (archives)UCLA masters theses and doctoral dissertations, written from 1934-1972. These are non-circulating and must be requested in Library Special Collections.
-
MFA Theses (Art Department and Design Media Arts)MFA theses are titled a "Record of Creative Work." They are archived in the Southern Regional Library Facility (SRLF) on the UCLA campus. MFA theses are not available online and can be requested by emailing the Arts Library at arts-circ@library.ucla.edu
-
Theses in microfilm: University ArchivesMicrofilm negatives of theses going back to 1968, with some individual titles back to 1942.
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowIndex to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations.
-
eScholarship, University of California This link opens in a new windowUC's open access repository. May include recent (2012–present) theses or dissertations not available in ProQuest. Search for author or title of the dissertation.
