General Biographical Indexes
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources, primarily in the social sciences and humanities.
- American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies of more than 19,000 men and women who have influenced American history. - Biography Index Past and Present (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of biographical books and articles from 1946 to present. - Marquis Who's Who on the Web This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Marquis Who Who on the Web provides biographies of over 1.4 million people of note, in the United States and around the world. It is the online counterpart of Marquis renowned biographical dictionaries. All biographies since 1985 are included.
- World Biographical Information System Online (WBIS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains biographical profiles of people from all centuries as well as all countries and regions worldwide. Compiles biographical articles from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 20th century, and reproduces these original documents as facsimile images on the screen. - Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An illustrated collection of 60,000 biographies of men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's history, up to the present.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Elektronische Allgemeine Deutsche BiographieCombining Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie and Neue Deutsche Biographie, contains biographies of prominent Germans from the earliest period to the present.
Biographies - Politics and Government
Biographies - Literature
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Combines the core Gale Group literary databases: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Complements Literature Criticism Online.
Biographies - the Arts
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society, and numerous international art galleries and artists.
- IAWA Biographical Database of Women in ArchitectureCompiled by the International Archive of Women in Architecture (IAWA), this database's focus is on historical rather than current women architects. Includes links to inventories of IAWA archival collections.
Biographies - Education
- University of California In MemoriamOnline biographies of UC faculty and administrators from 1928 to 2001. Many memorials for the years 1928-2001 could previously be found at the University of California History Digital Archives. However, that site is no longer maintained. This Internet Archive site allows you to find memorials listed alphabetically by name, but you will have to copy-and-paste the URL that appears after you click on a name.
- In Memoriam, 2002-The In Memoriam is an Academic Senate publication produced by its faculty to honor deceased colleagues.