Major Online Dictionaries
-
BrillOnline Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Includes 11 dictionaries and over 150 different languages. Contains etymological dictionaries of: Armenian, Greek, Hittite, Iranian Verb, Latin, Luvian, Old Frisian, Persian, Proto-Celtic, Proto-Germanic, Proto-Nostratic, Slavic, and Tocharian B.
-
Merriam Webster OnlineA commercial site that has both a dictionary and thesaurus.
-
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed. plus quarterly updates of new and revised entries. Trace the origin and history of words and their meanings in this etymological dictionary.
-
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. UC subscription allows limited simultaneous users, so if you can't connect try again later. Please note: UCLA Library has access to a selected number of Oxford reference titles, and not the entire set.
Print Dictionaries
To find print dictionaries in the library, the easiest way is to look under the call numbers in the following chart. The best and/or most recent dictionaries are usually in the Powell Library Main Reading Room and the Research Library Reference Reading Room. Older dictionaries (which can be checked out) are shelved in those libraries' book stacks with the regular books.
- Arabic: PJ 6640
- Chinese: PL 1455
- Danish: PD 3540
- Dutch: PF 640
- English: PE 1625
- Finnish: PH 279
- French: PC 2640
- Gaelic: PB 1591
- German: PF 3640
- Greek: PA 445
- Hebrew: PJ 4833
- Hungarian: PH 2640
- Indonesian: PL 5076
- Irish: PB 1291
- Italian: PC 1640
- Japanese: PL 679
- Korean: PL 937
- Latin: PA 2635
- Norwegian: PD 2691
- Persian: PK 6391
- Polish: PG 6640
- Portuguese: PC 5333
- Russian: PG 2640
- Spanish: PC 4640
- Swedish: PD 5640
- Tagalog: PL 6056
- Turkish: PL 191
- Yiddish: PJ 5117
For languages not on the list, search the Library Catalog for "[language] dictionaries" on the Advanced Search screen, using the Search filter Subject. For dictionaries that translate into English use "[language] english dictionaries."