Reference Sources on Latin America
These are a few key reference sources on Latin America and on countries.
The Cambridge History of Latin America by Call Number: F1410 .C1834 1984ISBN: 0521232236Date: 1984Go to the catalog record and click on the link to the volume you want. v. 1. Colonial Latin America -- v. 2. Colonial Latin America -- v. 3. From Independence to c. 1870 -- v. 4. c. 1870 to 1930 -- v. 5. c. 1870 to 1930 -- v.6, pt. 1. Latin America since 1930 : economy, society and politics -- v.6, pt. 2. Latin America since 1930 : economy, society and politics -- v. 7. Latin America since 1930 : Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean -- v. 8. Latin America since 1930 : Spanish South America -- v. 9. Brazil since 1930 -- v. 10. Latin America since 1930: ideas, culture, and society -- v. 11. Bibliographical essays.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Europa World Year Book and Europa Publications' nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series, which cover political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories and provide information on a variety of international organizations.
- CIA World FactbookOverviews of the geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, transnational issues, and military of countries of the world.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
One of a series of Oxford Research Encyclopedias, presenting peer-reviewed articles on a wide range of topics, such as Anthropology, Business and Management, Climate Science, Communication, Criminology, Economics, Education, Global Public Health, History, Linguistics, Literature, Planetary Science, Politics, Psychology and Religion.
Why Dictionaries?
You want to sure you are using the correct word to express your ideas. If you are not sure, you should check the definition in a dictionary.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed. plus quarterly updates of new and revised entries. Trace the origin and history of words and their meanings in this etymological dictionary.
- Merriam Webster OnlineA commercial site that has both a dictionary and thesaurus.