Regional Resources
- African Diaspora This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers 1860-present, and includes digitized primary source documents, secondary sources and videos from around the world with a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France. With content from The National Archives and Records Administration (US), National Archives at Kew (UK), Royal Anthropological Institute, and Senate House Library (University of London),
- Archives National D'Outre-MerRecords related to France's overseas colonies.
- Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes fully searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides, and ephemera. Major subject areas covered include Atlantic Studies, Diaspora Studies, Economic Studies, History of Medicine, Ethnicity and Gender Studies, Latin America and Slavery.
- Caribbean — Through a Lens — Explored!Collected images from the UK National Archives.
- Caribbean ViewsOver 1,200 images, maps and texts from the 18th and 19th centuries reveal contrasting experiences of life in the former British colonies. From the British Library.
- Colonial State Papers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the 16th and 18th centuries.
- Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)Cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
- Early Caribbean Digital ArchiveCollection of texts, maps, images and other primary sources from pre-20th century sources.
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 1.3 million pages of archival material (manuscripts, monographs, newspapers and periodicals) concerning Latin America and the Caribbean, including major collections about Latin American independence, Brazilian popular groups, Diplomatic activities in Cuba and more. Under this database's former name, Gale World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean included some periodicals and reference books that have been moved to Gale’s Dictionary of Literary Biography and Gale eBooks.
- Mona Library Digital CollectionsDigitized collections from the University of the West Indies.
- ManiocA digital library specializing in content on the Caribbean, Amazon and the Guyana Plateau. It contains videos, ebooks, photos and other primary documents.
- Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of 18th and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers. Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World slavery with a comprehensive resource for studying the development of Western society.
- Slave Societies Digital ArchivePreserves endangered ecclesiastical and secular documents related to Africans and African-descended peoples in slave societies. SSDA holdings include more than 700,000 digital images drawn close to 2,000 unique volumes dating from the sixteenth through twentieth centuries that document the lives of an estimated four to six million individuals.